Week 20 of Freelance Writing: Diary Entry # 21

I’m done for the summer.

Alicia Daley
Diary of a Freelance Writer
3 min readMay 22, 2022

--

woman on a laptop looking through the window at a boat dock from inside a warm coffee shop
Photo by Kristin Wilson on Unsplash

This was my last full week of work before my long vacation, so I tried really hard to get things wrapped up by the end of the week, and I sort of succeeded. Next week I will have some minor work to wrap up through Wednesday, but I won’t be working full days.

This week my focus was a little better than it’s been, partially because I was really feeling the panic of the deadline pressing in. Whatever works, right?

Here’s last weeks’ diary entry:

My two goals for the week were to finish the first draft of my novel, and to have at least three articles ready to publish. And I did okay on those goals.

I worked on my novel on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday and finished it on Wednesday afternoon! I’m so excited to have the first draft done and I’m looking forward to getting into second draft mode.

I finished one article this week and I’ve made progress on two others. I’m going to wrap those up next week and schedule them to publish throughout my trip.

Since I will not be looking for freelance work during vacation, I’m going to pause my Fiverr gig until I get back. Because of how my priorities have taken shape and the vacation coming up, I haven’t been working very hard on optimizing the listing just yet. I’m going to double down on it when I return.

Otherwise, I’m done with work for the next two months.

Wait, two months? Yeah, let me explain.

My sister is having her first child at the end of June, so my partner and I are going to be driving 1,600 miles to spend a few weeks with them and the new baby. We already had a separate road-trip vacation planned that ends just before my sister’s due date, so when we found out about the baby, we adjusted so it could be one big cross-country summer trip.

I will be writing and working on my Etsy project here and there during the trip, but I won’t have a consistent work schedule. Because of that, it makes the most sense to put this freelance diary on hold until I’m back in a normal routine. So, this is my last diary entry until July 31st.

I’m going to miss doing these updates, but I’ll be back with some fresh content in a couple months!

Hope you have a fantastic week (and two months)!

If you enjoy reading articles like this and aren’t yet a Medium member, you can use this link to join. You’ll get unlimited access to every article on the platform. Your $5/month membership fee will help support me as a writer and every Medium contributor whose articles you read. By using my link, I’ll earn a small commission. Thank you! 🤗

--

--