AB
Diary of a Quarantined Nobody
3 min readApr 9, 2020

--

Love; In the Time of Coronavirus

Someone should really write a story using the above title but it has to be a comedy. It should about the new guy who moved in next door to your friend’s house. Sparks fly while maintaining a 6 ft distance. The girl knew it was true love since he left a new roll of toilet paper with a bow on top outside her front door. Isn’t that something, folks? Instead of new love stories, I’ve been noticing bouts of sadness from people, even myself. Mostly due to friends.

The friend I had wanted to call and check up on me, never did. The text message sent, wasn’t even read. When I do end up speaking to someone, they remind me that their sadness is greater than mine. What right do I have to be sad, when their lives are so much sadder. You know what I say to that? “Forget you (place expletive here).” OK, so that doesn’t always happen but still no more dumb phone calls for me cause I have better things to do with my time. No siree Bob.

Let me tell you what I will do. Organize my bookshelf. You see, I’m an avid reader but most friends don’t know since my conversational skills are severely lacking. And I’m also worried about my plant. It’s kind of dying and I have no idea what to do. A Duke of Tuscany for those of you who are wondering. Scientific name: Jasminum Sambac. Live, dang you!!!

I have to keep myself busy and remember my blessing; otherwise, I’ll start thinking about the friend that I loved who ridiculed my phone calls or the ex-friend who sent me home from Chicago a day early because of a made up work event. (That happened a few years ago, mind you. Not traveling anytime soon.)

Nope, not going to wallow. Instead, I’ll dwell on the new responsibility and stress of homeschooling. I applaud regular homeschoolers. I knew it was tough but I never thought I would have to do it. My children may or may not agree that I’m in charge. I haven’t decided if I’m in charge either. Why can’t I just spend my time watching DIY YouTube videos and try to replicate the process in real life? I’m sure I could figure out what a miter saw is. Maybe…someday…

Thinking about those issues are way more ideal than what friend (or in my case) friends have decided that I’m not worth their time but to heck with them. Repeat after me, to heck with dumb friends. To HECK!

That being said, there are people in your life who do lift you up. Cherish them, my online friends. And for the love of God, call them up. I bet they would love to hear from you. Except for my millennial cousins. They only believe in texts. Amateurs.

--

--