Day 131 or “The Day Stormy Has Feelings”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 1, 2017

6:59 and she’s awake. She has an internal alarm clock that is more accurate than most physical clocks. And today I discovered that it’s not driven by the sun. It rained all night so was overcast and dark when she woke. Whatever it is, I’m impressed.

She’s missing her mother today so I offer to take her to ToastBox and school which she readily accepts. However she forgets that she hasn’t earned YouTube or phone games this morning as she didn’t read a book last night. Her pleading doesn’t work so she sits there with her back to me while reaching behind her to continue eating her breakfast. I am being completely snubbed. She eventually decides that it’s time to go to school and while in the taxi (still no phone) she breaks down and asks for Mummy. I offer to call, but that’s not what she wants. I hold her hand as we walk into the classroom and the teachers pry her off me and take her in. I watch her leave and suddenly I want to break into tears.

After work the dinner battle commences once more. It’s burrito’s for dinner and she decides to eat only to tortilla and nothing else. I even offer leftover bolognese (her favourite) to no avail. 4 tortilla’s later and she asks for desert. “How can you have any pudding if you don’t eat your meat” I say, channeling my inner Pink Floyd. This results is further feelings and a silent protest in front of the fridge. About 20 minutes later I win. I pass her her dinner and she starts shoveling it in. She’s earned desert now.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 130) | Tomorrow (Day 132) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.