Day 17

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 13, 2017

It should come as no surprise, but I make bad decisions at 5am. Stormy, for some unknowable reason, awoke at 5 and decided it was time to get up. I thought this was somewhat unreasonable, especially as she hadn’t fallen asleep until 10, so managed to convince her to stay in bed and sleep. As my alarm normally goes off at 5:30, I decide to turn it off in fear of waking her again.

I wake to the school bus calling to ask where she is.

A very quick breakfast and we’re in the taxi to school. We have a great conversation about her upcoming playdate with her best friend. She tells me everything that she’ll do with him. It’s sweet and almost makes up for the overall mayhem that she seems to cause. She’s even calm when I remind her that I’ll be home late from a workshop.

Throughout the evening, I get texts from our helper about how Stormy is going. Each one making me feel more and more guilty. Finally, I excuse myself and head for home. Miraculously, I find Stormy asleep (in my bed of course) and looking peaceful. Our dog is at the foot of the bed and looks at me with mournful eyes when I come in. As usual, our cat is nowhere to be seen. I know it won’t last, but I’ll take what I can get.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 16) | Tomorrow (Day 18) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.