Day 18

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 13, 2017

I usually wake up early. I do this because 5:30 in the morning is the only time I can reliably have to myself. When Stormy is awake it is full focus on her. And at night, when she’s meant to be asleep, I can reasonably assume that she’s not. I also try and schedule conference calls with the US at that time. This morning’s 6am video conference with the US has a special guest. A very tired, and half naked, little girl. I am thankful that it is the correct half. She sits through the entire call, occasionally waving at the other participants, and generally making friends.

Once the call is over, it’s back to the normal morning routine. That is, right up until the she discovers that we had thrown out the sticks in her school bag. These were apparently special sticks and we triggered 20 minutes of uncontrollable tears. Tears only overcome by the promise that we would find new sticks downstairs on the way to the bus. This seemed to cheer her up.

Evening comes and, as a treat, we take her for dinner at Lau Pa Sat. A colleague of mine, who was here from London for 3 days, comes to dinner with us. She immediately makes friends and tells him her life story. She is also adamant that she can see from Tasmania to Melbourne and the entire distance of England. So we mostly take everything she says with a grain of salt.

Bed time comes and I can see that the star chart is working — I am finally making progress with her bedtime. This has been the first night since my wife departed for Australia that Stormy hasn’t wanted me to check on her every 3 minutes. She did however ask if we could watch Invader Zim again (not watched since my wife was in last in Australia), so I consider tonight to be a double win.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 17) | Tomorrow (Day 19) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.