Day 180 or “The Day Stormy Picks The Lesser Of Two Evils”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJul 20, 2017

As much as I’ve enjoyed our ToastBox breakfasts this week, it’s back on the school bus for Stormy today. We have gotten out of the routine and so we nearly miss it. The bus has already arrived as we get to the bus stop. Stormy gives me a huge hug and a kiss as I lift her up onto it. She walks a step, turns around, and gives me a second hug and kiss. I think to myself “this is why I do it all”.

We pull out the laptop and Skype mummy during dinner. Her first question? “How was your day” showing that she has mastered the art of small talk. She then goes on to make me look bad by refusing to eat her dinner in front of her mother and instead dollop sour cream onto her salad and eat that. The sour cream. Not the salad. She enjoys that and goes for seconds. This time going straight to the source. She starts eating directly out of the salad bowl 🥗 and dipping it into tub of sour cream. I give up at this point.

I lose the bedtime battle once again. I get her into bed, but it just becomes a game to her. One of her favourite games is hide-and-seek. However she plays it by hiding under the bed-covers and telling me to ask “where’s Stormy!”. She’s not even trying today. Her feet are sticking out of the covers completely. I pick her up by her feet and give them a tickle with my beard. She giggles for a moment before telling me I’m playing it wrong. Back she goes. “Where’s Stormy!” I ask. Barely managing to keep the sigh out of my voice. I pretend I don’t know where she is and go to “sit” on the lump on the bed. This is hide-and-seek as Stormy plays it.

At 10pm I’m ready for bed. Stormy asks if she can read me Star Wars. I know she’s avoiding bed, but I’m willing to give in for more reading practice. The lesser of two evils.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 179) | Tomorrow (Day 181) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.