Day 182 or “The Day Stormy Makes A New Friend”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJul 22, 2017

There is generally no “me” time on a weekend. So when a friend visiting from Hong Kong suggests to meet, I invite him to breakfast with Stormy and myself. Stormy is excited as she always enjoys meeting my friends. We agree to meet at the ToastBox in Plaza Singapura as it’s close Sportsball and generally delicious. Stormy is shy to begin with but, after a short while, starts to engage.

As my friends plan for the day has changed, I invite him to continue the conversation while we watch Stormy play Sportsball. We end up talking half the day away. Stormy gets more and more interactive as the morning progresses. My friend gets to experience; watching in horror as she climbs along the ledge above our heads, swinging her by the arms to jump over tiles, watching her only step on rectangles, and of course being pulled along in random directions.

After lunch we are alone again. We decide to go to an art studio where she can be creative. She paints a lovely mirror for her mother. On the way out she see’s a stall with some knock-off toys. “Night-Knight” anyone. I refuse to buy it for her and she starts to cry. I hold firm and lead her outside. I can tell she’s not that upset as she starts to skip while crying. It lasts a couple of seconds before she realises and stops (skipping, not crying — that lasts a while longer).

It’s getting late at this point. Our landlord has arranged for a potential new tenant to come over and tour the house so we head straight home. Stormy decides to lead the tour herself and take this young family around the house and pointing out her room to them. I’m not sure who was more amused.

The evening is spent reading books and dancing to The Whitlams. It’s been a good day.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 181) | Tomorrow (Day 183) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.