Day 184 or “The Day Stormy Brings Chaos To Dog Training”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJul 24, 2017

I find it disappointing that the standard for fatherhood is so low. Somehow, when I take Stormy to school, that’s worth commenting on. “You’re a great father” has been said to me on more than one occasion. And, while I’ll take any compliment I can get, the mothers around me don’t have the same surrounding commentary. The fact that a father taking an active effort in the life of his daughter is noteworthy says a lot more about society than it does about me. If anything, the fact that I take an effort to parent my child is, literally, the least that I can do.

Ranting aside, it was a good morning. Stormy was well behaved over breakfast and commented on how “lovely” and “beautiful” the path beside the river was. I briefly chatted to some of my friends while dropping her off. A good morning had by all.

As I arrive home, Stormy sees me, jumps out of the pool, and proceeds to give me a huge hug. She knows exactly what she is doing. So I pick her up and throw her back in. We go upstairs and she has a bath while dinner is on. Tonight it’s salmon. Over dinner, we talk about techniques to train dogs & cats. This prompts Stormy to act like a dog so I can “train” her. As I am the sort of person to take advantage of any situation, I immediately “train” her to ‘sit’ (on the chair), ‘wait’ and ‘eat’ (her dinner). As Stormy is the sort of person to bring chaos to any situation, she buries her head in the plate and eats with her face. I can’t win.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 183) | Tomorrow (Day 185) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.