Day 185 or “The Day Stormy Tries To Drown Me”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readJul 25, 2017

The morning passes without incident. The afternoon passes with many incidents. Mostly good.

Stormy is in the pool when I get home. “Dada” she calls as she runs up to me. You know she wants something when she calls me Dada rather than Evan. This time she wants me to join her, and her friends, in the pool. It’ll take a while for dinner to defrost, so why not. I quickly get into my swimmers and jump in with her. They mostly enjoy getting buckets of water and pouring then over me. They also play this game where I float on my back and they pull me through the water by my legs. At least that’s the theory. The fact I can’t swim, or float, makes it a very fraught game. Nonetheless they have fun.

We have dinner by the pool with her friend. The mess is phenomenal. Stormy does get in trouble when she throws her rubbish on the ground not in the bin. I scold her and explain why we don’t do that. She looks at her feet and tries to justify herself. “I forgot how to use the bin” she starts. I am very clear that those kind of excuses are worse. She owns up to her mistake quickly after that and soon all is back to normal.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 184) | Tomorrow (Day 186) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.