Day 187 or “The Day Stormy Makes Me Feel Beautiful”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readJul 27, 2017

I look over at the little girl fast asleep in my bed. A short game of “Where’s Stormy™”, involving burying her in the blankets and then suddenly pulling them off, brings her to waking very quickly. And very giggly. “What would you like for breakfast?”, I ask.

She has this way of speaking where she rolls her eyes and looks at me like I’m an idiot. That I should know something that I don’t. The problem is that sometimes she’s actually right. That just makes her feel justified.

“Toastbox” she says. Toastbox it is. Afterwards, as we scoot to school, Stormy talks about the upcoming move back to Australia. She keeps asking about the differences between Singapore and Australia. She’s intensely interested.

In the evening, after the usual dinner and bathing battles, she plays quietly in her room for a little while. That is right until I tell her to go to bed. Then she decides to come out and make my life difficult. She creates a terrifying concoction out of shampoo, conditioner, soap, sunscreen and water in an empty coke bottle. She runs around shaking it. I’m impressed by the creativity but wish it could have been 3 hours ago. She get bored after a while and climbs on my chair.

“I’m being a hairdresser” she says as she stands behind me and brushes my hair. I feel beautiful.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 186) | Tomorrow (Day 188) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.