Day 192 or “The Day Stormy Cracks It”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readAug 1, 2017

Stormy wakes up and decides that she wants breakfast in an A/B pattern today. This is one of those little things that she learnt in school — alternating stripes of colour. Somehow this little idea has stuck with her and she applies is everywhere. Often to the surprise of her teachers. Today it’s A/B breakfast; home, ToastBox, home, ToastBox. Today it’s ToastBox.

As we’re getting ready to go, I notice that she’s reluctant to brush her hair. I get the brush and conditioner and she runs away from me crying. She doesn’t want me to brush it. It’s gotten matted over night and it’s hurts her. I make it clear that we have to brush it, but I’ll be gentle. Fast forward 5 minutes and we have a full on tantrum. Screaming, hitting, the works. It’s very rare for this level of emotion to express itself. I remain calm and talk her down from the edge. Eventually I get to brush her hair and, while it hurts & takes a little time, we get it fixed up.

Despite the tantrum we go to ToastBox. In small part because, by now, we’ve missed the bus anyway. There’s another crying fit when she realises that I’ve banned her from YouTube because of the hitting. She sits down outside ToastBox and refuses to come in. Eventually she gets hungry and joins me inside. By the time we scoot to school she’s chatting as if nothing had ever happened.

In the evening, once Stormy is quietly in her room, I spend the time messaging all the other parents. I want to put together a memento album of photos of all her friends to take with us when we leave. I’m looking forward to putting it together.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 191) | Tomorrow (Day 193) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.