Day 195 or “The Day Stormy Writes A Song”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readAug 4, 2017

I wake Stormy by ‘kiss attacking’ her. She giggles and jumps out of bed. “Mummy’s coming tomorrow” she shouts. She’s excited and happy. The morning goes by too quickly. Before long we’re scooting our way to school. Stormy tell’s me all the things that she’s going to do with “Mummy and Abbi” next week. It sounds harsh, but I’m actually glad I won’t be here. I don’t think I have that much energy left.

After work, I arrive home to find Stormy racing around the garden with a few of her friends. She calls me over to play with them. I’m to be the monster. While being the monster, I learn something new. Today is the day I realise that I literally cannot keep up with her. That when she “wins” our races, she’s actually winning them. Although to be fair, the three piece suit doesn’t help.

I eventually get her upstairs for movie night. While we’re waiting for dinner to arrive, she shows me what she was doing all afternoon. “I made an office like your’s, Daddy” she exclaims. Proudly showing me her little office “desk” and chair. She sits down, picks up a pencil, and starts intently drawing. I’m so proud.

Dinner arrives and we watch My Neighbour Totoro. Afterwards, Stormy refuses to go to sleep. She’s excited that her mother is coming back tomorrow morning. Out of nowhere she exclaims; “I’m going to write a song for mummy!”. “Daddy, how do you write ‘fade’?”. “F A D E”, I say. “How do you write ‘away’?”. “A W A Y”. This goes on for a while. The lyrics are something like; “You can’t fade away, you can’t fade away, you by my side”. She grabs her, very out of tune, Ukulele and disappears into her room to sing.

Sleep never comes.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 194) | Tomorrow (Day 210) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.