Day 20

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 14, 2017

It’s a normal morning. Over breakfast we have the usual photo slideshow on the TV. An old photo comes on of Stormy, as a young baby, sitting with an old friend who has since moved away. She asks me who it is and I explain that it was someone she used to play with as a baby but had moved to China. Her immediate response; “Can I go to China to meet my friend”. A small pause, and then in a quiet voice; “But I’ll be a little shy”. I can picture this entire trip in my head. I want to visit China now.

We make it to the school bus and she gives me a huge hug. She says that she is looking forward to movie night with me. That it is her “favourite time of the week”. Any intention I had of banning movie night as punishment for last nights sleep transgressions is gone.

Movie night arrives and I decide we deserve a treat. Well, I deserve a treat. Stormy gets it by default. Instead of the usual movie night at home I take her to the cinema to see Lego Batman. We get popcorn and juice and have a great time. Home again and it’s time for bed. After the usual rejection and tears, I decide to try something else with her today. I promise to sit with her, in bed, for 10 minutes. At the end of 10 minutes she’s asleep. I don’t know if I’m giving in, but I have peace and that means a lot.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 19) | Tomorrow (Day 21) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from ,y wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.