Day 215 or “The Day Stormy Wins the War”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readAug 24, 2017

Slumber is a great word. It describes everything from a restful sleep to the ancient rest of the Elder Gods. And slumber is what is happening this morning. I’ll leave it to you to decide on which side of the definition it falls.

We both barely open our eyes this morning. Even the threat of missing the bus has no impact. The only thing that get’s either of us moving is the promise of ToastBox. I’m enjoying these morning breakfasts. It’s a bonding experience that I’m going to miss. I’m also going to miss Kaya Toast, but don’t tell Stormy that. The rest of the day passes quickly.

After dinner, I read Stormy a few books before she asks to play her “Educational Games”. She’s been good, so I allow it. Nilmini tries to Skype Stormy while she’s playing, but she doesn’t want to be interrupted so she rudely rejects her mothers call. Shortly after, I get her off the computer and into her bedroom.

With only 10 days left of single fatherhood, I have abandoned any pretense of trying to get her into bed. She has won that war — I realise now that I never stood a chance.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 214) | Tomorrow (Day 216) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.