Day 28

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
3 min readFeb 18, 2017

Today marks 4 weeks (exactly) and this will be my last entry for a while. As of this evening, I will no longer be a single dad. Single* yes, Dad no. Stormy will be on her way to Australia to spend a week with her mother (and I’d kinda hope to see a Diary of a Single Mum).

Saturday’s are usually frantic, but today something miraculous occurred. We slept in. And not just to 7:30. It was nearly 9am before we both woke up. Bliss.

Once awake, the day was pretty normal; breakfast at ToastBox, Sportsball (today was soccer) and a quick trip to Daiso to teach her the value of money. The only aspect that was unusual was that Abbi, her grandmother & my mother-in-law, joined us for the day. After all of this, it was time to do something interesting. I have two words for you.

Tesla Coils!!!

Off to the Singapore Science Centre we go. Stormy gets scared of the Earthquake generator (which is a pity because she loved it last time) but explores the volcano room. She visits the butterfly room, but won’t let one touch her (they tickle). We watch the fire tornado show and she sits there, fascinated, by the flames. She doesn’t quite understand the room on the human brain, but pushes all the buttons anyway to see what they do. She’s my daughter.

After a couple of hours there, it’s time to go home. I plonk her in front of the TV while we pack her suitcase. She comes in to help pick the books and toys that she wants to take along. She decides to take along her Triceratops, in all it’s pointy & plastic glory, because “he’ll be lonely without me”. She also chooses to wear her new pyjamas to the airport. The one’s with the pants 2-sizes to big. “I’ll hold them up” is the only response she’ll give to our concerns. We pack an extra skirt in her carry-on bag and move on.

We arrive at the airport very early for a family dinner. HK Dim Sum it is. She eats. Both Abbi and I are quite amazed by this. After dinner, and while we’re waiting to enter Immigration, Stormy and I play with her toys. She pulls out a toy bird, cat, and dog. After they chase each other for a while, we decide they are all friends. Then she brings out her Triceratops. He’s a friendly dinosaur and all is good.

It’s not long before it’s time to say goodbye. I stand there waving as my daughter, my primary focus for these last few weeks, walks away. Hand-in-hand with her grandmother. She looks back once, smiles, waves, and then she’s gone.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 27) | Tomorrow (Day 29) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.