Day 41

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 3, 2017

Jet Lag seems to be taking a larger toll on me than on Stormy. She wakes at 7am sharp. This time it’s her dragging me out of bed. The flight has not been kind. It’s a slow start to the day. Stormy seems to be ahead of me on everything. She’s dressed and fed before I barely have the chance to make a cup of tea.

But, this is not meant to last. Nearing the time when we need to leave for the bus, she decides that she doesn’t want to go to school. 4 going on 14 seem appropriate at this juncture. “It’s my choice” makes a lovely reappearance. I explain that, while many things are her choice, this isn’t one. Surprising no one, this is the wrong thing to say. Time for plan B — distraction. An offer to take her to school in a taxi (via Toastbox for me) does the trick. This seems interesting enough that it’s worth calming down for. In a way, I’m glad I made this offer. Seeing her teachers and friends greet her as she walks into the school grounds brings a huge smile to my face. And hers.

I manage to make it through the day without falling asleep at my desk. This is an accomplishment.

It’s Friday, which means Movie Night™. Expecting the inevitable, I offer Stormy her choice of dinners. By definition, the inevitable happens. It’s “Old McDonalds” for dinner. She selects My Neighbour Totoro for movie night… right up until she spots Trolls. At this point nothing will change her mind. It’s not reached the level of the Frozen epidemic, but it’s getting close.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 40) | Tomorrow (Day 42) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.