Day 44

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 9, 2017

Amazingly Stormy actually stayed in her own bed last nigh. It’s working. However, today it’s my turn to try and wake Stormy. And in a complete reversal of roles, it is she who decides to fall asleep on the sofa this time. I eventually get her moving and dressed. The breakfast battle is beyond me though.

Dressed, but unfed, we bustle out the door to the school bus. There’s no fuss as she waves goodbye from her little window. I think it’s reached a point where it affects me more than her.

I know today will be difficult. I need to travel to India for work for 2 days and leave Stormy with our helper. I hate to do this so soon after returning, but these are commitments made long ago. I’ve tried to make it as painless as possible, but I know I’m just justifying it to myself to relieve the guilt. Regardless, what’s done is done.

Stormy and our helper meet me outside work in a taxi. Stormy sits in my lap the entire way and chat’s about her day at school. She also steals my phone to send a message to her mother. Mostly in Emoji.

“🐶🐭🐱🐹🐰🦊🐜🐴🐦🙈🐒😝😌🤠💜💗✡🔞🔆📵📵🚭🚱🚷🚯❕⚛⚛⚛🚖🚠🚑🚡🛴🚓🚑🇸🇬💾🎛⏱📼🎞📞📀🎞🎛⏱📞💿📀☎⏱💻🍳🥚🥝🥔🥜🥓🍳🥓🍅🍋⛷🤽🏽‍♀🎽🎧🎧🐝🐣🐴🐘🕸🐺🐤🐴”

After check-in, we enjoy a dim-sum dinner at the airport. Stormy spends the entire time ignoring us and watching YouTube on my phone. My departure time draws near and I say my goodbyes. Or at least I try to. This is the first point Stormy reacts.

“Daddy, Don’t go!”

My heart breaks as I watch her leave. Carried to the taxi home — reaching and calling for me.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 43) | Tomorrow (Day 47) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.