Day 58

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 20, 2017

Stormy will not wake this morning. Nothing I do seems to make a difference. It’s the last day of her school holidays so I’m not too concerned. Moments before I leave for work, she staggers out of the bedroom and asks me if I can play with her. I explain that I need to go. She says nothing. Just looks up at me with her big eyes.

I stay and play with her.

I do eventually get to leave for work. Although this may have had more to do with the fact that she has to leave for a play-date than anything else.

As I scoot home from work, I find her playing outside with her friends from the condo. I try and sneak in without her seeing me. I fail. She runs up to me and declares that she has finished playing and wants to come home. We ride the lift together and she tells me all about her day. Once home she jumps on the sofa and pulls out her tablet from the cushions. She asks me to sit beside her on the sofa and play with her. And I quote. “Can we play together. You be the blue guy. Because you have eyes and a head. I’ll be the person.”

I’m not sure how I feel about that.

We have Nacho’s for dinner. In a surprising turn of events she actually eats everything on her plate. Although everything is eaten with her hands. And I mean everything; meat, sour cream, salsa, it doesn’t matter. It’s a mess, but I’ll take what I can get. There is a particular joy in watching her eat. Especially when she decides to make “sandwiches” out of lettuce, sour cream and mince meat.

At this point she needs a bath. However four year old Stormy returns and she decides that baths are boring. I try everything and eventually convince her to take a bath by asking her to wash a couple of her toys. They’re a complete mess now, but it was worth it. After her bath she plays with her Lego. She tells stories of the Lego people visiting the Zoo and having dinner. And yes, these are two separate stories. I try and encourage this creativity where I can.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 57) | Tomorrow (Day 59) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.