Day 60

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 23, 2017

Today hasn’t started much better than yesterday. Although more polite. A gentlemen’s disagreement on whether she should go to school or not. I obviously taking the affirmative stance. The specter of missing out on her play-date this afternoon seems to do the trick and we make it to the bus on time. Although I do have to pack her breakfast in a plastic container for her to eat along the way.

The play-date goes well. I get WhatsApp messages throughout the afternoon showing her playing with her friends and making silly faces at the camera. I don’t even have worry about her dinner as she returns after eating at her friends house. I say eating, but what I really mean is that they put food in front of her. A part of me can’t help but be relieved that it isn’t my problem for one night.

She returns just before her bedtime and goes through the night routine pretty well. She even brushes her teeth without complaint. She spends all that energy chattering continuously about her play-date and everything she did with her friends. She stops long enough to spend a little time dancing with me to the random music from my computer. Although when she asks me what “It’s Raining Men” means, I do struggle to answer.

The sleep battle continues today, but politely. No tantrums, just a gentle refusal to go to bed until after 10pm.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 59) | Tomorrow (Day 61) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.