Day 69

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 31, 2017

I have found the downside to having Stormy go to bed on time. At about 6am this morning, she wakes to discover that I am not in my bed. At this point she freaks out and starts weeping because she can’t find me. I come back, tell her it’s too early, and convince her to go back to bed. This lasts until about 6:30 when she decides it’s time to start the day.

On the other-hand, I am very thankful that she went to bed last night and has thus earned TV. Banning TV, as a side note, is a punishment for me as well as her. I place her in front of Phineas and Ferb for about 20 minutes while I have a shower and get ready. We have a generally leisurely morning and make the bus with time to spare.

Like I promised, I come home a little early for Movie Night. We go and see Beauty and the Beast. I was sceptical of the Stockholm Syndrome nature of the story, but was convinced there was enough feminist backing from Emma Watson to make it non-damaging to a 4yo’s sense of self. What I forgot to check was how scary it was. Answer, very scary. But Stormy enjoyed most of it even if she did crawl into my lap and cry during the multiple fight scenes.

We come home and Stormy is so tired she crawls straight into bed without even taking her clothes off. I kiss her goodnight and close the door behind me.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 68) | Tomorrow (Day 70) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.