Day 76

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
3 min readApr 7, 2017

In her mother’s absence, Stormy likes to sleep in my room. As she went to sleep past 11pm last night, and not wanting to reward bad behaviour, I chose to sleep on the sofa. I completely pass out and only awaken at 7am when Stormy comes into the room crying. “Where’s Daddy, I can’t find my Daddy”. She sees me and crawls into my lap. A few moments later she has regained her composure. “Can I watch TV?” she asks without skipping a beat.

The rest of the morning goes really well. She even lets me brush her hair. I spent 5 minutes making it look pretty with clips and everything. Then she refuses to let me take a photograph to show her mother. At least the other parents will see my handiwork. That is until 5 minutes later when she decides that she wants to brush her own hair. It returns to its usual mop formation.

I leave work early to buy flights back to Australia for Easter. Stormy seems unimpressed when I tell her and is more interested in Movie Night. To be fair, tonight the Singapore Science Center is hosting “Picnic under the Planets”. Stargazing and the Lego Movie all in one. I crack out my old telescope and bring it along.

Of course there has to be a McDonalds at the Science Center so I can’t escape Movie Night McDonalds even when we are on the other side of the island.

We settle in with our Picnic of McDonalds and watch a short live show with Liquid Nitrogen. I did like the explosion when they dumped the hot water in. Afterwards, I set up the telescope on the picnic mat and show Stormy the craters on the moon. It’s still a little bright to see Jupiter though. The hardest part is keeping Stormy from bumping the telescope.

We pack it all away when the movie starts. Stormy spends the next hour putting various parts of my body to sleep by sitting on them awkwardly. I’m saved when there’s a surprise blackout that takes down the projector near the end of the movie. It also takes down the lights to the toilets which is rather awkward. Stormy decides that she’s really tired, and to be fair it is quite late, so we grab a taxi back home and skip the rest of the movie.

I promise her I’ll bring out the telescope again tomorrow and set it up by the pool.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 75) | Tomorrow (Day 77) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.