Day 9

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 11, 2017

Stormy snores — no tells you that children do this. It’s like a very small train circling my room each night. I’m actually getting used to the sound now. I think once I’ve got her back into her own room, I may even miss it. That being said, actually getting a complete nights sleep without being kicked in the kidneys will more than make up for that.

Today was a difficult day. There was no long weekend sleep-in. I awake before dawn to Stormy deciding that it’s time to get up. I ask her, “why can’t you wake up like this on school days as well”. But some questions will forever be unanswered.

As it’s a long weekend, we decide to leave the relative safety of our home and it’s plentiful distractions. With no help and no plan, beyond keeping a hyperactive 4yo busy, we brave the world. There must be something out there for us.

We eat Toast.

30 minutes later we return home in shame. Stormy wants nothing more than to sit at home and play with her ponies. I, of course, would rather be doing anything else, but I accept my fate and spend the next two hours on the floor with her. Lunchtime arrives and with it, a chance to escape. A play date with one of her friends to visit the Toy Museum. I am amazed by the history behind all the toys, many dating back over 100 years. Stormy has this way of saying “WOW!” that always makes me smile.

We beat the rain home, and so the rest of the afternoon is TV and McDonalds for dinner. I feel that I am somewhat cheating at being a parent. But we both survive, so I still count that as a win.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 8) | Tomorrow (Day 10) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.