Field of Dreams…

When you’re so high, you can’t do a damn thing.

--

A few days before traveling for the holidays, my partner and I attended the wedding of a friend. At this age, thirty-something, it appears that you only really connect with friends at these life-changing moments…weddings, funerals, christenings. It had been quite some time since we had hung out with that set of friends.

One of them is an excellent baker of laced edibles and gifted us some to inspire our holiday cheer. A rum cake laced with weed, if you’re thinking that sounds like quite the combo, you are correct. I think we both underestimated the power of the gift because you could taste nothing but coconut-cake-goodness. We each gobbled up too-large-a-piece as we mounted our Christmas Tree.

Usually this type of edible gifts me with magnificently colorful dreams. I am filled with the desire to document the brilliance of the colors and sharpness of the lines. However, this time — this time was different.

The next day, we lay helplessly in our shared bed — rendered incapacitated. A full twelve hours later, my limbs wouldn’t cooperate with my mind. An entire day was lost. No work. No packing. No cooking. Just laid out beside each other like toddlers with their first flu.

Some two days later, as we boarded our flight to visit family and friends abroad, I bemoaned my lost dreams. Perhaps, if we had eaten less or if we had tried the much lauded ‘shrooms (I’ve never had the guts to go beyond weed and don’t see it happening ever but a girl can dream) my dreams would have been safe. It was then that I drew this abstract piece and called it Field of Dreams.

Drawing by Author (Melissa A. Matthews)

@Diary of An Extra Black Art Chick is an experiment by Melissa A. Matthewsto write her way back to her art practice. Follow this account to follow that journey and follow her other account to see what else she’s into.

--

--

Diary of An Extra Black Art Chick
Diary Of An Extra Black Art Chick

Artist and writer, chronicling the Black art and artists that made me love art as a way to find my way back to it.