Venture Deals — Outsmarting VCs & Lawyers

Not really a book review

--

I did three good things over the weekend

  1. I donated my copy of the unread Venture Deals 1st edition hardcover to the local library. The book has been sitting in my study bookshelf for a while, and I just hadn’t gotten around to reading it. I was pleasantly surprised that a Silicon Valley library did not have this book.
  2. I purchased and downloaded the latest 3rd edition (Dec 2016) of the book on Kindle for iPad.
  3. I read all sixteen chapters of the book over the past weekend and finishing it last night. I find reading on, and lugging around my iPad Pro more convenient than a hardcover.

I highlighted the book at numerous places so I can reference it again and possibly help others. Of the point, but I find Amazon’s Popular Highlights quite useful when scanning a book. Here is Brad’s viewpoint on NDAs:

I should have read it earlier

While reading, I realized I should have read the book earlier. I acknowledge I’d have made fewer entrepreneurial mistakes, and not incurred high hourly lawyer fees while trying to understand the nuances behind warrants and discounts.

The Book

You always need smart VCs and lawyers, but this book makes you a smarter entrepreneur. If you work for a VC as a principal, partner, director, associate or analyst, this book will serve you well. Corporate lawyers will also get a better understanding of what is relevant to entrepreneurs and venture capitalists.

You may find yourself agreeing or disagreeing with some content based on your personal experiences, but overall it is a very good read.

The book has a high 4.8/5 rating on Amazon. I always read the five-star and one-star reviews on Amazon. The book has favorable reviews by Fred Wilson (avc.com), Tim Ferris, Mark Suster, Eric Ries, Chris Sacca on VentureDeals.com the companion website.

--

--

Dickey Singh
Musings on Entrepreneurship, Technology & Photography

Founder+CEO InsightStory.com, & previously Pyze & Encounters. Father of twins & 🇬🇧Lab🐕. @DickeySingh, blog moved to: DickeySingh.com