Fun Facts/World Record

Did You Know…A Sheet Of Paper Can Only Be Folded In Half Twelve Times

I used to think it could only be done seven times, but it turns out the record is twelve

Dr James Smith
Did You Know…Short Fun Facts
2 min readJul 7, 2024

--

Fun Facts/World Record Did You Know…A Sheet Of Paper Can Only Be Folded In Half Twelve Times I used to think it could only be done seven times, but the record is twelve
Created by the author using Bing

If you’re not a Medium member, no worries! You can click here to read this story for free

“Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.”

Joshua J. Marine

A few years ago, many years ago someone bet me I couldn’t fold a sheet of paper in half eight times. So you fold it in half then in half again, until you get to eight folds.

It sounded easy enough and I tried it and found out, it’s impossible, try as I might I just couldn’t do it.

In fact I’d fallen for the joke because they knew, what at that time I didn’t, that it’s an impossible task.

If you don’t believe me try it.

I was reading a story on medium today where the writer stated that if you folded an A4 piece of paper in half, then fold it in half again, once you’d done it forty two times, it would reach the moon.

I instantly thought, that’s not possible because you can’t even get to eight folds.

--

--

Dr James Smith
Did You Know…Short Fun Facts

Specializing in Health and Fitness, Writing and Writing Tips. Let's get healthy and creative together!