Shikinomori Park | 四季の森公園

Prefectural Four Seasons Forest Park

Diday Bello
didayshashin
3 min readJun 17, 2018

--

Entrance Fee: FREE

Shikinomori Park (Shiki means Four Seasons) is one of the many Prefectural parks of Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan. It’s a 15-minute walk from JR Yokohama Line Nakayama Station (South Entrance) to the North Entrance of the park.

With 45.3 hectares area, the park features several facilities — playgrounds, gardens, and ponds. I was not able to go to all the areas, but I was able to check out the main facilities.

Since it’s summer here in Japan, some of the flowers are not in bloom, but I get to take some photos of the summer flowers. I am not really into Science stuff so I don’t know the names of these flowers. If you do, please tell me! 😜

Summer Flowers

Most of the flowers in this Iris Garden have withered. I bet this area is so beautiful in spring or early summer.

Iris Garden

There are also hiking routes in the park like in Koyo no Mori. Yesterday was a rainy day so some parts are quite muddy. Since I am too lazy to hike, I didn’t take that route 😆

Koyo no Mori (Forest of Autumn Leaves)

Weekends are usually family days here in Japan, so parents usually bring their kids to parks. In pond areas like in this photo, I saw several kids with their dads catch insects. I wasn’t able to capture those moments though 😦

There’s also an amphitheater inside the park. There’s no event today so people used the seats to eat lunch. Some kids also play in the stairs like this kid I saw with his dad.

Outdoor Stage

Hopefully, I can get back here this autumn 🍁 to see how colorful the trees are; or maybe next spring because there are Sakura (Cherry Blossoms) trees around the park. 🌸

You can check out the park’s website to know more about the Shikinomori Park : http://www.kanagawaparks.com/shikinomori/

--

--