My Sit-ski Is A Breath Of Fresh Air

By Liesl Hammer

Dig Inclusion
Dig Inclusion
3 min readAug 19, 2020

--

A person in deep snow

From a very young age my family would go skiing in the Alps and I used to love having huge snowball fights in the evenings, something we don’t really see much in the UK. I never realised how lucky I was, and even now, when I look back and remember my childhood memories, it was simply incredible.

My family has been one of the biggest inspirations in my life, as they treated me the same as everyone else and encouraged me to do everything my siblings did. One of the ways we achieved this was by using the latest in assistive technologies. At Dig Inclusion, we improve standards of digital accessibility for organisations by using the same assistive technologies that many people with disabilities use. In fact, one of the reasons I feel inspired to work at Dig Inclusion is that shared feeling of confidence that my ski’s gave me down the slopes.

What is a Sit-ski and how to use it?

Sit-ski’s can come in many different forms depending on the ability of the rider. Some, normally paraplegic riders with full upper body strength, use a fibreglass chair with a mono-ski and outriggers in the form of short crutches to help with steering.

Others are like the image above; with a set of skis connected to the bottom and a bucket-like form to keep your legs in the air. Skiers use their body weight to direct the skies and create turns. Once earthbound, you feel invincible and can attract a lot of attention! As I don’t have full upper body strength, someone holds a bar at the back to stabilise me, however, I hope to train my body to use a mono-ski Sit-ski and become more independent.

In my view it is vital that assistive equipment exists as it is so important for people with disabilities to be able to participate with as many different experiences in life, as possible. A lot of people seem to be focusing on the negatives of new technology but I would like to take a moment to celebrate it, as technology provides a unique opportunity to achieve increased levels of inclusion, and with that comes freedom.

Grant Broome, the founder and Principal Consultant of Dig Inclusion states: “Assistive technologies are a great enabler and equaliser. They allow people to use abilities that they have to enjoy activities that they normally depend on abilities that they may not have such as the ability to walk or see. Modern technology provides us with a wide array of devices that allow people with impairments to do more than ever before.”

Assistive technology can improve the quality of life of people with disabilities as it allows everyone, no matter who they are, to be who they are. I also believe that it improves your mental health, as doing different activities boosts your self esteem. I know from personal experience that if I can’t do something due to my disability, I become upset.

Inspiring others

Being in my Sit-ski is a breath of fresh air, not only literally but emotionally as well. The response I get from it, is the exact opposite of the attention I receive due to my wheelchair. People do stare at me but not in a patronising way like when they see me in my wheelchair. In my Sit-ski they nod and stare in a respectful and impressed way. There’s a huge difference. People come up to me to ask me questions and tell me how cool it is. But my favourite experience is when I inspire young people who are also disabled to give it a go. This is how assistive technology should be, cool and inspiring, not just practical.

The beauty of skiing

Skiing is an amazing experience for anyone and why shouldn’t people with disabilities take part? Well luckily, thanks to assistive technology, it is possible. In my opinion, there is nothing better than having the wind in your hair and people staring as you race past them, faster than ever before.

--

--