Education Major Interview

Jlucente
Dig Writing for Soc Action
3 min readApr 6, 2024

1) What is your major?

a) Education

2) What your biggest struggle with is becoming a teacher?

a) So the two biggest struggles that I’ve had or thought of with the role of teaching is my confidence in myself sometimes I’m in my observation course and I like to go to the mini-lesson and I don’t really feel confident that’s going to go well but in the end, it goes better than I thought I was just overreacting yeah so confidence is a big thing for me also lack of funding not only for the schools or the school district that I would be working in but also for teacher pay so that is also a big issue that I’ve thought about going into this career.

3) What have you enjoyed about becoming a teacher?

a) I’ve enjoyed getting to inspire my students and my course and watching them learn and grow due to the impact that I had and due to the impact that my cooperating teacher also has on them.

4) What grades do you want to teach and why?

a) So, my ideal grades are 3rd through 5th grade I love this range because they’re not too young that I don’t have to hold their hand and do everything for them and they’re not too old they won’t really talk back to you, yet they are getting to middle school so it’s like it’s the in-between they still kind of wasn’t.

5) What is your teaching for philosophy?

a) My teaching philosophy is that all children are unique and have different learning styles along with their different learning needs and in my future classroom I will create an inviting and inviting and family-like atmosphere where every student is able to learn and grow at their own pace.

6) Who inspired you to become a teacher?

a) So, in 3rd grade, I had a teacher, and her name was Miss Madsen, and she was wonderful, I looked up to her and I aspired to be just like her when I was older.

7) Are there any aspects of the major of the major that you are expecting to like what you do?

a) So since I am in the education fellows program there was a class that I was required to take during my freshman year where we volunteered at a garden and food pantry, knowing that I was gonna take that class I was not excited whatsoever because I don’t like gardening and I mean I wasn’t excited about the venture part fine anyway then through that whole experience I met two of my really close friends through that and it also felt like internally really nice for me because I was able to give back to the surrounding community that is around high point university so it felt really good to make an impact for them.

8) Have you ever second-guessed your major?

a) Ohh definitely! A fun fact I was also considering switching to a graphic design minor I couldn’t minor in it though because my schedule would not allow me to add a minor because I thought about it way too late, but I love you to like to do more of that kind of stuff but yeah, I’m in too deep I’m not changing.

9) Would you recommend this major?

a) I would recommend this major I would physically and mentally I will say but it is also very rewarding in the end it just makes me happy at the end of the day.

10) What frustrates you most about teaching?

a) So what I’m teaching in a practical class the most frustrating thing is when the students do not listen to the directions that I give or when I repeat myself about three to four times and they still ask questions after I described everything in detail that’s the most is there anything else you want to talk about teaching or your major I love it I’m very excited to start my career and get out of all these classes and have my classroom.

--

--