Interview with a Sociology anthropology and French Major

Jlucente
Dig Writing for Soc Action
3 min readApr 12, 2024

Question number one what is your major?

a) Sociology anthropology and French

What made you choose this major?

a) Sociology anthropology because when I toured this school for the last time, I wanted to do global studies, but High Point didn’t have global studies yet. I met one of the professors in the sociology anthropology department and she was talking to me about it, and she convinced me and so I was like OK I like that one I’ll do that and then ever since high school I wanted to major in French so that one was easy.

Have you enjoyed your majors?

a) Yeah, both they’re really fun I’ve had some really fantastic French classes I think conversation and pronunciation was my favorite one with Doctor LeClair. sociology anthropology, they’ve been that interesting so far just covering a variety of topics I’m excited for the one I’m taking next semester.

What do you plan to do with your major after graduation?

a) That is the biggest unknown I’ve ever had in my life the new idea hopefully the internship that I have this summer will kind of put me in the right direction otherwise I kind of just want to work for some organization or a company that has a global focus what is your internship with the US state department 10 weeks in DC he aren’t you cool I’ll tell you about my thing later what

What is your least favorite part of your major?

a) I’ve had to read some very old, and they require a lot of brain power but that I don’t always have, and it takes forever which frustrates me because I’m a fast reader and I don’t like it when I can’t get through something very fast.

what do you think what do you think sets you apart from the other majors?

a) we’re very small in both majors they’re they don’t have a lot of people in them, so we get to know our professors very well also because there aren’t a lot of professors to take classes.

Have you ever second-guessed your majors?

a) Sometimes when people ask me ‘’what are you going to do after college’’ what can I do with my major, everything that’s not like science-based unless they already have a background in science

What is the biggest takeaway from your major?

a) human relations, it really pays to know how people and why people act the way they do also just knowing another language does help you communicate with a lot more people using a common language like French or Spanish.

Would you recommend these majors?

a) Ohh yeah, it’s a lot of fun especially if you have broad interests, you can do a lot with it you can specialize in a bunch of different things yeah, they’re very interactive and fantastic.

Are there any aspects of your major you weren’t expecting to like but you do?

a) Ohh yeah it’s like something you weren’t expecting to like but then you end up liking it in the end maybe my methods class I’m taking now for anthropology you hear like the total qualitative research methods and you think it’s going to be the most boring thing you’ve ever heard sometimes it is but it actually isn’t it’s very interesting we’ve been reading this one book for the last half of this semester about migrants crossing into the US made of very interesting.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

a) Take French to the professors are awesome I love them dearly small classes are very nice they’re all small classes I think the smallest I’ve ever had is 4 people and one of my French which is the biggest has been like something for the general four people I don’t know but it was legitimately four of us here in this building.

--

--