Anthology

Anthology: Death and Uncontrollable Laughter

NatalieSugabelle
Digging Up Bones
2 min readJul 8, 2024

--

A black raven, symbolizing death, at rest with old city in background
Photo by Kasturi Roy on Unsplash

In reviewing some of my earlier writing, I discovered a certain theme: How differently I view the end of life. These stories are not morbid or excessively existential but do represent my somewhat unconventional take on the whole end of life thang. Despite middle-age, neuroses and depression, my hope is that my pragmatism and humor also shine through. Enjoy, I promise you won’t cry.

Black People, Death Debt and Crowd-funding

I’ve observed old traditions being usurped by a new collective mindset which has been helped along by technology and our own love of virtue-signaling. Maybe you’ve noticed the newer attitudes about personal and family responsibility and the belief that ‘My troubles are everyone’s problem too’.

Where are YOUR Friends?

An elegiac tribute to a discovery most unexpected. Maybe we should all rethink how easily we let friendships slide into oblivion and what we all lose when we do.

--

--

NatalieSugabelle
Digging Up Bones

5x Boosted! Black SistuhVillain born beneath an angry star who still acknowledges how fragile we are. MBA Refugee of Michigan's Corporate scene. Clap up to 50!