A Gamer’s Input: Is Gamefly Worth It?

Holly Zink
Digital Addicts
Published in
3 min readNov 11, 2020
is gamefly worth it?

The variety of video games that you can choose from today is endless! With so many choices, avid gamers like me want to try them all to see which ones are great and not-so-great. Since I definitely don’t want to buy a game that’s not-so-great, I went searching for a video game rental service. That’s when I came across GameFly.

If you don’t know what GameFly is, it’s an online game rental service where you pay a monthly subscription to get games sent to your home. Their main focus is making it convenient and affordable for gamers to try out different games on whatever console type they have. On GameFly, you can buy games and rent/buy movies as well.

My Experience Using GameFly

After seeing what GameFly was all about, I decided to test it out. Thankfully, they have a 30-Day Free Trial for those who don’t want to commit to paying a monthly subscription right off the bat.

- Browsing and Ordering A Game

To start, I have an Xbox One and a Nintendo Switch, and enjoy trying out the latest new releases. When on GameFly, I was amazed to see newer games like Battlefield V, Red Dead Redemption II, Monster Hunter: World, and Kingdom Hearts III. These games were all listed and available to rent for Xbox One console. However, I noticed that some newly released games were unavailable.

When looking at the game’s profile on GameFly, I did appreciate that they included user and critic reviews. This information really helps gamers like me know more about a specific game, especially if it’s one that you’re unfamiliar with.

- Delivery

From the website and other user testimonials, it says that a game usually arrives within 2–7 business days. I made my purchase on a Monday and it arrived on Thursday. Along with the quick shipping, there were no shipping fees as well!

- Playing The Game

The Red Dead Redemption II for Xbox One I got was in mint condition. No scratches, dents, or game malfunctions. Since I was using the GameFly Free Trial, I could only have one game rented at a time. So, I decided to keep Red Dead Redemption II for the whole month. I was able to enjoy playing this game without having to worry about returning the game immediately.

- Returning The Game

GameFly makes it really simple to return any games that you rented. They provide you with a return envelope, so there’s no hassle trying to figure it out on your own. However, you do need to send it back before your membership expires or they will charge you the retail price of the game.

The Final Judgement: Is GameFly Worth It?

So, is GameFly worth it? Absolutely! For someone like me who’s an avid gamer and enjoys playing the latest games, this is a great rental service to use. They have thousands of games available for rent or purchase for PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, Nintendo 3DS, Wii, and more consoles. Even though I did have the roadblock of Kingdom Hearts III not being available when I wanted it, it’s okay since there areso many other games available.

Even after using the free trial, their monthly subscriptions are very affordable:

  • After the Free Trial month, you pay $15.95 per month afterwards, 1 or 2 games or movies out at a time (I subscribed to this membership).
  • 1 Disc Plan: $9.50 per month with the limitation of only renting out 1 game or movie at a time.
  • 2 Disc Plan: $13.95 per month with the limitation of only renting out 2 games or movies at a time.

Overall, if you’re looking to rent video games at your leisure, I would highly recommend using GameFly.

Originally Published On Digital Addicts on March 12, 2019.

--

--

Holly Zink
Digital Addicts

I am a Digital Marketing Associate for The Powerline Group and writer for Digital Addicts.