Digital Advertising Formative Reflection

Afsara Begum
Digital Advertising Year 3 Term 1
3 min readNov 22, 2017

For my formative presentation I had to showcase what I have done so far for the Crowne Plaza brief. After my presentation I received constructive criticism on what I have done well so far and things I could improve on. Here is a reflection post on how I presented, the work I presented and action plans I could make.

Me

When presenting my idea I was confident and spoke in a projected pitch so my voice could be heard around the room. I made sure to make eye contact and generally keep a good body posture to allow the audience to feel the confidence I have in my idea. However when starting the presentation I was not able to find my notes that I prepared on google slides which as a result delayed the presentation and made me look unprofessional. The advantage of writing notes was that I was able to remember them and was able to make strong points when presenting however not having the notes made me feel frustrated as I wasn’t able to present the evidence and research that I found to support the points I was making. Not having notes ready impacted the presentation as I was not able to present everything that I wanted to.

Work

20 ideas

I started off the presentation by informing the audience what brief I have chosen and the target market I will be aiming for so that the audience know what my project is based on. I then showed my research which evidently helped to back up my points and helped the audience to know what my target market will be looking for. In addition I showed them what type of brand Crowne plaza is and their competitors as well as the type of people that do stay in these hotels. Most of the good feedback was on the research I presented which showed how prepared I was.

When presenting the actual campaign plan I did receive more criticism than compliments for instance the audience felt my tagline “Work hard. Play hard.” was informal for my target market of young business people. Before the formative presentation I prepared online notes with about the advantages of mixing business with pleasure however due to not having them with me in the presentation I felt the audience were not able to grasp the theme and still felt that mixing business with pleasure may be risky.

For improvements I should prepare myself better and make sure to go through technical issues beforehand for example having enough charge on my laptop and get my online notes ready. Furthermore I could have included a mood board so the audience could visualise my idea, for example it could include images of existing Crowne Plaza ad campaigns. In addition I do feel like I need to look at my campaign ideas again and re-think about the brand I have made and what it offers.

Action Plan

Using the valuable feedback I received after my presentation it is crucial I make a plan and write out what needs to be done in the next 2 weeks before presenting my final decisions. Here is a list of the actions I need to take:

  1. Edit the aim of my brand
  2. Organise purpose and features of app
  3. Create a name and new slogan
  4. Create a logo
  5. Create mood board
  6. Finalise what target market I am aiming for
  7. Present my idea to target and see if they like my idea
  8. Improvements from target market opinions

After completing all these tasks I would need to prepare for the Summative presentation and hand in. Here is a list of what I have left to complete by Summative presentation:

  1. A campaign Proposol
  2. Research Folder
  3. Pitch Presentation
  4. Blogs for : week 2, week 3, week 4 and week 6

--

--

Afsara Begum
Digital Advertising Year 3 Term 1

Year 3 student studying Web Media Production at Ravensbourne University