Best Laid Plans

Colleen Kenyon
Digital Authorship 2023
2 min readMay 7, 2023

Husband: What’s easier to talk about than yourself?

Me: Umm, literally anything.

So did I struggle with the assignment to tell a story from my own life? Yes. I absolutely did. Of course, no one know’s my life story better than me. There was no shortage of relatable experiences or lessons learned. What I was lacking in the initial stages of this project was the confidence to share my personal experiences with a wider audience (ok I’m still lacking this). I’m sure it would have taken less time to research someone else or invent a fictional character and tell their story instead. Even after crossing off a number of topics and then starting and stopping with several other ideas, my anxiety is high as I share my project.

Once I chose a story “worth” sharing, the initial draft came quickly. As I read the script, I was torn between the need to remove details and yet tell more of the story. I didn’t want to name specific people or locations but I knew stripping everything out would make it boring and difficult for the (hopefully tiny) audience to relate to. Evaluating my work now, there is clear room for improvement with a stronger ending and description of the lesson learned.

At some point, I decided I was ready to record the script. As I did, I found myself making more changes as I read it aloud. Then there were still more adjustments based on attempts to meet the length requirement. Once I had a final recording, the visuals went through a few iterations before landing on the timeline format which felt most natural based on the way that I structured the script. Here was another chance for personalization with actual photographs, but of course I went with graphics rather than putting myself out there and avoiding the possibility of including anyone else.

As I reflect on my work and the process overall, I can’t help but laugh. I chose to tell a story about finding my voice and value in one part of my life while I struggle to do the same in another. I suppose that I will always be a work in progress.

--

--