The Privileged

How we struggle with privilege in the face of others hardships

Jay Barbara
MOVE
3 min readAug 3, 2016

--

Coming from the United States, I feel very fortunate compared to the other people that I have come into contact with here in Salzburg and have met while traveling the world. Listening to stories told by the people I have met here, I feel as though I should have a struggle, or a certain story. It makes me feel guilty that I have lived such a privileged and happy life. Of course this is not something I should be ashamed of, but I feel like I am judged on an opposite side of the spectrum. It certainly hurts my feelings because I try to be as open and playful as possible, something that has been imprinted on me by my family.

I come from a really close family which has definitely influenced who I am today. I grew up on honesty, trust and free to do whatever I felt I wanted to do. I’ve always been given unconditional love and support from three sisters, my mother, and father .

I use every common platform of social media and is something that is presented to me at the tip of my fingers. Not only is media a huge part of my life, I believe and know that it is a huge part of my generation. I do not necessarily think it is a good thing and has become a negative impact to my personal relationships. Being so fortunate and having access to anything imaginable sometimes gets taken for granted.

Last summer, my mother and I took an amazing trip to Kenya and Rwanda. I had to pack a backpack very lightly leaving necessities like makeup behind. Not only did I get to interact with wildlife, I also encountered many African adults and even more children.

This moment was a turning point in my trip and in my life. I am among local children who were thrilled that they were in the presence of someone who looked the way we did. Meeting this community was extremely meaningful to me. In respect for their culture, they gave my mother and I the type of garments that they wear.

I formed a connection with all the children and especially this young girl that’s holding my hand. All of these children were covered in dirt and were not bothered by a fly placed on their cheek when I immediately would have swatted it away. The excitement of getting a marker with nothing to write on is something that struck me. They don’t have access to enough water to even clean themselves let alone being presented with media. Although these children are in terrible conditions they are unaware of a life like mine that they do not have the privilege of living.

Migration has not been something that has impacted my life first hand but is an issue around the world and I have interest in continuing to learn and to listen.

This personal narrative was written at the 2016 Salzburg Academy on Media and Global Change. It exists as part of a digital publication called MOVE which aims to educate readers on the social, political, and cultural impacts of global migration. All stories published in MOVE were created at the 2016 Salzburg Academy on Media and Global Change by students and faculty from around the world.

--

--

Jay Barbara
MOVE

20 year old from New York, trying to find her place in this world.