Digital Culture Twitter Journal

joseph chavero
4 min readNov 29, 2017

--

Lowest Tweets

Top Tweets

Through the twitter journal assignment, I think that I have continually been forced to create more concise versions of the ideas and thoughts that I have had while both reading about and discussing in class the content that we have looked at this semester. Digital Culture itself is amalgamation of multiple different aspects of our current and popular culture. When connecting the concepts that we have had in class into the “outside” world, I have definitely noticed, more intricately, the multiple layers and facets that encompass the different groups and affinities which we all choose to subscribe to. With the tweets that I found were the worst in my journal, I found that early in the semester, I found it much harder to get the more intricate ideas that I had into a more concise set of characters. I felt that these tweets touched on some of the aspects that we looked at in our discussions and readings, but were more either general or surface level in the nature of the ideas, or were examples of concepts without much connection to the concept on deeper levels. I felt that these tweets also held a light connection to the in class concepts, while rather focusing on outside examples to further the idea that was touched on. I believe that as the semester went on, there was definitely improvement in the ability to concisely connect the multiple different aspects and layers of the concepts that we have discussed and even now and into the future I feel as though I can still grow and be able to concisely connect outside examples and concepts in shorter paths in the content that I produce. The tweets that I chose for the best of my journal, I feel continually portray ideas central to the topics that we were and still are discussing and incorporating into the idea of “digital culture”. The tweets both connect to the concepts that were dealt with and support continuing discussion about the topics, where even other students have connected to my tweets. The conversations were both connected to the readings, as well as the discussions of that day, and had connections with relatable and popular aspects of our culture and ultimately to “digital culture”. From this experience, I felt that twitter was used interestingly within the class, but I did not think it was used to its full potential at all, almost feeling like an afterthought a few times. I have had a previous class that also had twitter interactions that we completed each week and the class then integrated parts of peoples comments from twitter into the class discussions that we had during the classes. I feel like acknowledging some of the points that were made over twitter might have been more engaging and supportive of the connection and utilization of the external medium. Though I do think that there was a push to engage between students and the different ideas and concepts that we connected as well as bringing forth possible ideas of connections to the questions that we may pose.

--

--

joseph chavero

Studying game design at IIT. A writer and designer. Photography's a hobby and designs a passion. See some of my work at https://www.behance.net/jchavero930e72