Michael Ogiela
Digital Culture Fall 2017
3 min readOct 25, 2017

--

Well, I’ll be honest with the results of this project. I failed the requirement regarding not using digital technology or the internet about five minutes into my search for knowledge about the folding of a sakura star. My local library has their directory entirely on computers and did not have the old fashioned card catalogs. It only got worse from there, as the only origami books available in print were for children and they were all Star Wars themed oddly enough. The only origami books for adults were only available as eBooks and searching through the small number available, I could not find any instructions for the Sakura Star. One abundantly clear aspect of this search was that it was much more time consuming than simply searching the internet. By the time I would even arrive at the library, I could’ve had the instructions and began folding the star. Since the library route failed me, I thought about whether I knew anyone who knew origami or may have books on it, but that route also bore no fruit. With time running out and no star to show, I thought I would at least try to fold it using a video on the internet despite this being a violation of the main requirement of the project. I found a video roughly twenty-five minutes in length and began folding in shame. Among the things I realized was the intricacy of the design and the presence of very difficult folds even with a video showing it step by step. Many of these folds needed to be repeated, making it very easy to get lost. Eventually the folds got so intricate that I couldn’t fold anymore. The sad revelation I reached was that even with a video showing everything in detail, I still couldn’t fold this star. I can’t imagine trying to fold it using instructions and still photos of the process that would be available in a book. This is where I learned that with the use of digital technologies and the internet, an individual would go farther than they ever could with books.

Despite failing miserably, I did part with valuable insights into the value of digital culture. It’s now apparent to me how valuable and convenient the internet is, its vast amount of information and the fact it is right at our fingertips is mind numbing to me now. While I have gained a newfound appreciation for digital technologies, I can’t say the same for the rest of those who use the internet. Many seem to take it for granted and are ungrateful for their accessibility to it, feeling almost entitled to it. If users had to search for information the old school way like I was supposed to, many would change their attitudes about the internet and hopefully see it as something to be cherished and celebrated. Especially in a country where access to digital technologies is widespread and continues to grow, a respect for these technologies should be fostered.

While reading about digital divides such as the lack of digital technology and access to the internet among the ethnic neighborhoods in Austin, Texas during the years 1999, 2000, and 2009, I found it difficult to connect and understand how the lack of technology prevents people from elevating their positions in society. Especially since I’ve been fortunate to have an education that involved technology extensively, but after having to search for information the old fashioned way, I understand how not having access to the internet would hold individuals back. Without the internet or computers, learning new things and trying to do homework would take an exceedingly long time to do. Then to put themselves through college would be a daunting task, as most curriculum will require access to computers and the internet. While most ended up gaining access to the internet, it came later in their lives and required some adjusting, whereas being exposed to the internet and computers at a young age would make the transition seamless. These children would grow up with computers as an integral part of their lives, which would dramatically boost their potential to learn and develop.

Straubhaar, J. D., Spence, J., Tufekci, Z., & Lentz, R. G. (2013). Inequity in the technopolis race, class, gender, and the digital divide in Austin. Austin: University of Texas Press.

--

--