Diego Cazales
Digital Culture Fall 2017
3 min readOct 11, 2017

--

Having the restraint and limitation on what you could use is difficult. One of the main reasons is because you have been used to using technology to answer any questions or concerns that you have in your whole life. Making the Sakuna star reminds me of the stories that my dad would tell me on how they didn’t have computers or any digital devices and everything had to be done by hand. I had to rely on books in order to make this star. I didn’t know that people wrote books on how to make origami. The book that I used was written by Masahiro Chatani. In the book, they explain various folds like the mountain fold, valley fold and book fold. These are some of the most common folds that you will see in every day origami. In addition I asked my younger brother because he use to make origami when he was younger. He taught me a few tricks that he had but it was hard for him to make this star also. The materials that are needed to make any type of origami is construction paper and Scissors. However, you could use any other type of paper. I gathered these materials from my house. Next, I started playing around and tried to make it with only looking at the picture. However, that wasn’t successful because I wasn’t getting anywhere. I was just making totally different things that looked nothing like a sakuna star. Then I read a couple of pages from the book that I got from the library to see if I could make it. This was more helpful but the instructions on how to make a sakuna star wasn’t listed so based on the knowledge that I acquired I applied it to make it again. I tried for a good 3 hours and tried different folds until I finished with what kinda looks like the sakuna star. However, if i was able to use technology this would of save a lot of time because i could of use drawing programs to make this possible and it will have been done in a timely manner or i could of youtube how to make a sakuna start. Every single step would have been given to me and i would of had a perfect Sakuna. The thing that I learned from origami was that it may look easy but it’s actually difficult and time consuming. Also patience is key because you’re not going to get it right away; it takes practice and time. In addition, the folds have to be done exactly how the book says because if you do then even a little different you will make something completely different. This reminds me of Aura because of its uniqueness. The authenticity of the sakuna star. You can only make it one way and that’s the only way to make it. One mistake and everything will fall apart. However, you have to combine and gather new elements into the star because you don’t have instructions on how to make it instead you only have the final product. So this is similar to remediation because you add your own spin to this. You make it your own. This is also relatable to the article, “Communities, cultural capital and digital inclusion” which tells how technology was hardly used because it was conceived as a bad thing. People were never taught how powerful technology could be from school. In addition, teachers pushed students away from technology.

Chatani, M., & Nakazawa, K. (1994). Ondori pop-up geometric origami. Tokyo, Japan: Ondorisha.

--

--