Maker Project

Pawel Siglowy
Digital Culture Fall 2017
3 min readSep 20, 2017

When I was younger I always wanted to make a boat out of paper. However, I never knew how to. Although lately, this is not one of my main goals, I thought that this project would be a perfect opportunity to finally make my own boat. I looked for a tutorial online, and after a couple of minutes, I found this YouTube video, by “How to… Science, Craft Plus Other DIY Fixes.”

Owner of this channel makes short videos of him doing simple crafts. For example, he creates different types of paper planes. Additionally, he shows how to do some small, quick, and low-budget science experiments. What I think is very interesting. This tutorial was well made, and the instructions were very easy to follow. Another great advantage of this video was that it showed a first-person perspective, and it was short. First, filming from the first -person perspective was a great idea, because it was natural and effortless to follow the instructions. Furthermore, when I looked down at my work and then at the video, I saw almost the same result. This helped me a lot and allowed me to spot any mistakes instantly. Also, author’s explanations were very clear and easy to understand. When I was watching this tutorial, I knew exactly what he meant at all time. Also, I was able to reproduce the boat without any problems. The author was speaking relatively slow and was making short stops after every step. As a result, the viewer had a chance to do the project simultaneously with the author of the video. Furthermore, as I was making my boat, I could keep up with him, and I didn’t have to stop the video a single time. In addition, the video was relatively short compared to other tutorials on how to make a paper boat. Unlike other tutorials, this video was only three and a half minutes long. As can be seen, this tutorial was easy to follow, useful, and professionally made. Also, all things considered, it’s clear that the targeted audience for this tutorial are children and teenagers, who want to make a cool and quick craft. Furthermore, this video is perfect for children, because: the instructions are very clear, easy to understand, and the video was relatively short.

When I was making the boat, I knew exactly what to do from the first to the final bend. I had an extremely easy time following the tutorial step by step. For the most part of the process, my paper looked the same as in the tutorial. However, my final product was slightly lower quality compared to the boat made in the tutorial. My best guess for why that happened, is that I was not careful enough and some of my bends were not perfect. Overall, I am satisfied with my boat. If I was to make my own tutorial on how to make a paper boat, I would make it very similar to this one, except I would give more specific instructions for more advanced moves.

--

--