Twitter Journal

Kamil Bigos
6 min readNov 29, 2017

--

My 8 best tweets:

  1. “The Tower is representative of the culture at IIT because it is the largest building on campus and a symbol of IIT #digiculture2k17”

This is one of my better tweets because I answered both sides of the prompt which was find the symbol and then explain it. I could have improved this tweet by explaining why it is a symbol better.

2. “An example of identity tourism, while it is negative, is catfishing. Catfishing is pretending to be one person on a dating app, then getting a date and showing up as yourself to the dismay of the person on the other end. #digiculture2k17

This is a good tweet because I answered the prompt and then I explained what the example is so that anyone reading it can understand the tweet. I also think its a funny concept that fits identity tourism

3.”Social media encourages curating and archiving because when one uses social media one shares their life with other people on the internet. People don’t want to be know on the internet as a boring individual so they archive their lives so they can be more known.#digiculture2k17"

This is a good tweet because it got like 4 likes on my twitter and one of them was from a guy I didn’t know. Once again I felt like I explained the aspect of digital culture well and went beyond what the prompt was asking for.

4. “One way that we view hacking in a positive way is when we using hacking for national defense to prevent possible attacks.A negative view of hacking is when someone uses hacking to steal people’s personal info. #digiculture2k17

This tweet is kind of basic but I had to put it in my best tweets because I did a second tweet on this prompt and it was worse than this one. To improve this tweet I need to be more detailed and explain better.

5. Convergence culture products include abridged series of cartoons where users create the voice overs of characters to change the story or for comedic purposes. These products create a larger sense of fandom which in turn helps grow the brand. #digiculture2k17

I thought this tweet was good because I thought it was a good example and I answered the prompt. I can improve by relating to digital culture in some way.

6. Digital technologies such as the fit bit watch allows us to understand our bodies better. The fit bit records hear beat and other various aspects so that we can monitor our health and understand our bodies better #digiculture2k17.

Once again I thought this was a clever example. However I might not of understood this weeks reading as I may have taken understanding too literally.

7.Haraway uses the Garden as a symbol of creation and God. Haraway writes that cyborgs cannot come from the garden as they were created without the intervention of a higher presence. Cyborgs were created in their own between the combination of man and machine. #digiculture2k17

This example is a little basic but I thought I did a good job explaining this tweet.

8.

This is my remix and I was extremely happy with how it turned out so I don’t think I need to improve it.

My 8 worst tweets:

  1. A form of positive form of hacking can be hacking for social good. For example locating a lost or stolen iphone via hacking. #digiculture2k17

This tweet is pretty bad as it is just a basic example without any explanation.

2. Another example of socially created content is a play through of a video game. The end resulted is influenced by the viewers as the creator is inclined to listen to the viewers in order to get more views. #digiculture2k17

This was actually a decent tweet but I had to put it in my bad tweets because I already had 8 good tweets.

3. Remixes relate to convergence culture in that remixes take a product that’s been made and a user changes it in some way meaning remixes are user generated content. An example of a remix would be rewriting a whole script of a movie to the liking of the user. #digiculture2k17

For this tweet I don’t think I grasped the concept very well and just did a basic explanation to get the tweet done. I would try to add more of the readings into my tweet to improve it

4. Haraway uses the cyborg as a symbol of the breakdown of the divide between man and machine. The cyborg symbolizes the joining of man and machine into one being #digiculture2k17

Once again I only used a basic understanding of the readings and just tweeted to complete the prompt.

5.An example of Identity tourism is pretending to be a created character in a game such as Skyrim in an online forum where Skyrim is talked about. #digiculture2k17

I quite liked my example here because I love skyrim as a game but I didn’t really understand what identity tourism is so this tweet is bad.

6.Live streams are a form of digital culture and its aura is that you are able to watch someone’s reaction to something live #digiculture2k17

This was one of my early tweets and it is so bad. I don’t understand what aura is and I need to understand the texts in order to get a good tweet written.

7.An example of socially created content is a remix of a song. Each remix is different and is influenced by the creator #digiculture2k17

This is also an early tweet and there’s no context. I need to add more digital culture to improve the tweet and add an understanding of the texts to the tweet as well.

8.The Sears Tower is symbolic of the culture that has been created by the city of Chicago. #digiculture2k17

I like my example but once again I just poorly executed it. I need to explain why the sears tower symbolizes Chicago culture.

Final Remarks

One idea to try to get us to engage in Twitter more is to try and make us tweet our prompt in class or give us some class time to think about it. Possibly talking about the prompt might spark more of an initiative to do the journals on time as well as they will be fresh in our minds. Twitter might be used more effectively in class if the prompts were maybe a little more abstract or free thinking. Maybe just have a prompt that’s just tweeting like a question you have about the texts or something like that might be more productive for the class. One way to get us to engage more on twitter with peers is to force us through the prompt. Write out in the prompt something like reply to a peers previous tweet about what you liked about his or her tweet. Something along the lines of that would be great.

Final Grade

I tweeted enough to cover the criteria assignment. 4 out of 4

I was effective in presenting my own understandings of the course materials 1 out 3

My tweeting shows a progression of my own understanding of digital culture. 3 out of 3

Total 8 out of 10

--

--