Twitter Postmortem

Pawel Siglowy
Digital Culture Fall 2017
3 min readNov 29, 2017

I grew up in Poland for first 13 years of my life. Poland is a pretty single minded country with common ideas about most issues. Even tho I lived here in US for a couple of years I never really thought about the different issues and opinions that we discussed this semestre in Digital Culture. This class was really eye opening for me, it forced me to think the way I never did before and brought to my attention problems and viewpoints that I didn’t even know about. In my twitter journal I had some really good understanding of the readings, for example these 5 tweets:

I believe I did a good job with the twitter journal those weeks and I showed my understanding of the class material. All the above tweets accurately answered the twitter challenges from the syllabus. I think my best tweets were about remix culture. That was my favorite part of the course and I understood it the best. Also, I really enjoyed that we could be creative with our comic remixes and I got to work with photoshop so that was a really good experience for me. On some of them I could have said more and related them to class more but they are my best nethertheless. Also I got into one conversation on twitter.

I think this was also an example of good use of twitter in class because I respectfully disagreed and provided another way to look at the issue. I never used twitter before this class and I didn’t know how twitter works and I didn’t notice that Silvia responded back to me until now, but if I knew how to check this I would have responded again.

So, those were my good tweets that showed my understanding of topics we discussed in class. Here are my tweets that show the opposite:

All the above tweets are either really vague or not related to this class at all. For example the second tweet in the list, is not in any way relevant to digital culture. The very next tweet is also way off the mark. Convergence culture is much more than what I said in my tweet. I could have made all of those tweets better by being more precise and relating them more to the class materials. Looking back at these tweets made me realise how far I have gone in understanding what digital culture is really about.

I think what would help me with tweeting more and tweeting better would be more in class discussions twitter journals. I totally forgot a couple weeks and I thinks if we discussed it more in class I would remember to do it more often.

I think there should be more discussion on twitter, I haven’t seen many people respond to other people’s tweets except one week that the twitter challenge was to respond to others. This would make this project much more interesting.

One thing that would make people engage with others on twitter is asking questions about the readings so people would respond to each other and that would start a discussion.

Grade:

I tweeted enough to cover the criteria assignment. 2/4

I was effective in presenting my own understandings of the course materials 2/3

My tweeting shows a progression of my own understanding of digital culture. 3/3

Total: 7/10

I used 10 tweets and the requirement was 16, so that’s a little over half so I think 2 points are appropriate.

I had some good tweets that were on point but could have been slightly better

I started off not knowing anything about digital culture and I came a long way to where I am now so I believe I deserve a 3 in this category.

--

--