Elizabeth Klimek
Digital Culture Fall 2017
3 min readNov 29, 2017

--

Twitter Postmortem:

Throughout the course of my Twitter publications this semester, I have posted in batches due to the fact that I reread over my notes taken in class and and then reread the articles in order to gain a clearer understanding so my posts would be clear and concise answers for the questions given on the syllabus.

My top eight posts are as follows: Week 2 (Post 2), Week 3 (Post 2), Week 4 (Post 1), Week 6 (Post 2), Week 9 (Post 2), Week 10 (Post 2), Week 12 (Post 1), Week 13 (Post 1).

These posts are my top tweets because they are the most coherent and straightforward, clearly answering the questions posed in comparison with their counterpart. This is due to the fact that I best understood the content of the week’s readings/challenge for these tweets.

My worst eight posts are as follows: Week 2 (Post 1), Week 3 (Post 1), Week 4 (Post 2), Week 6 (Post 1), Week 9 (Post 1), Week 10 (Post 1), Week 12 (Post 2), Week 13 (Post 2).

I would consider these posts to be my worst as they are not nearly as explanatory as the other tweet I posted for that week. Moreover, some of these tweets have not fully answered the questions given on the syllabus.

Considering the fact that I was unsure regarding the ideal that we were meant to post twice for each week’s questions, I have recently made up for that mistake, and as Twitter has expanded the amount of characters they allow in each tweet, I am now able to more thoroughly respond to questions from previous weeks.. This has made it harder to track my progression as the weeks have passed due to the fact that I am more knowledgeable than I had previously started with. In short, my progression would have been better presented by practicing this principle of posting twice a week more closely. While I fell short in that aspect, I do strongly believe that my knowledge and understanding of digital culture has evidently progressed in more recent weeks. However, my earlier, singular posts each week also show an advancement of my comprehension of digital culture and what it stands for.

In high school, I had a class called History In The Making, where we were required to write a response to an in class question in our journals in the extra time at the end of class. On the aspect of improvement, for future reference, students, like myself, would engage more in tweeting and socializing with peers on Twitter if a similar process were enforced in class. For example, if we had a question given at the end of class that we were required to tweet about either in the five minutes remaining of class or for homework if we didn’t finish. Then, this response would be due before the next time we meet in class. At the start of each class we could comment on one another’s posted tweets and then have a short class discussion about the posts. This would greatly improve our presence on Twitter as a class and our engagement with each other.

--

--