What If Adopting a Pet was Like Online Dating?

--

Just over a year ago, I lost my dog, Sissy, at the age of nine. I was not prepared to lose her and the void she left was way too noticeable.

I realized at that time that I was not the kind of person that could be without a dog so I began looking online.

Many pets need homes, and while I wasn’t particularly against any breed, I did have an idea of what I was looking for: a small dog who was older than a puppy (about a year).

Collage with two dogs. On the left is a toffee-colored put and on the right is a brindle dog.
LEFT: Sissy, who passed in October 2019. RIGHT: Maile, adopted in November 2019.

In the time I was looking for a dog, I filled out many applications for a variety of locals rescues. I gave them vet references, answered questions honestly, gave them my plan for if I had to go out of town, consented to a possible home visit, and many more.

Yet, some of my applications were never answered, and I got several responses for dogs that had been adopted that day.

I finally did rescue a dog, a one-year-old 30-pound beagle mix, from the same rescue Sissy had come from, but I started to wonder where the process of rescuing a dog could be streamlined and made a little more uniform.

Image of a smart phone displaying the login page to Tinder.
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

I started to think of a tangential product: online dating.

Here’s the thing: I hate online dating, I think it’s superficial, time-consuming, and in the end, after trying to have a conversation with someone, you may just end up with a lot of unsolicited pictures.

This model came to me when I thought about two things.

First, what were the best relationships I think I’ve ever had?

Second, what environment would I avoid at all costs if it weren’t for a pandemic and a need for social connection?

The answer to the first question was Petfinder and Adopt-a-Pet, and the second was any dating app created. However, while Petfinder gave me some of what I consider to be my best relationships, it also gave me a world of hurt with the application process.

I am a writer who is used to rejection. So many types of rejection bounce off of me like I’m Teflon, but being rejected from adopting a dog: that hits differently.

And it’s the memory of that pain that made me think that this model, with a few adjustments, would be perfect for pet adoption.

What is the problem with pet adoption currently?

On the side of the rescue, they spend a lot of time and resources on the animals they take in. They rely on donations to feed the animals and provide veterinary care. It’s in their interest to find a good match with people who will care for their pets, but extensive application processes mean more paperwork which they need time to go through.

On the side of the potential adopter, they are looking for a pet. They want one they can vibe with, and while there are no guarantees in adoption, and any adopter should know that they want to make sure they’re getting a dog that fits their needs.

What Does Online Dating Look Like?

When you join an online dating app you create a profile and are then matched with other profiles in your area. Popular apps like Bumble and Tinder allow you to swipe left or right on your matches.

The algorithm tracks if your swipe is a yes or a no and if you and your date both say yes, then it’s a match and you can chat.

Sketches of adopter and pet pages for new adoption smartphone application inspired by online dating apps.
Mockups of an adopter and pet profiles made by the author.

How Can Online Dating Help Pet Adoption?

While, obviously, pets can’t talk or type, this could be a good way to engage with potential adopters. The adopters would fill out one application, including references, set a target radius, and be matched with dogs from various rescues.

When they swipe right to indicate that they’re interested in the dog, it sends their application to the rescue who in turn can review their application and swipe left or right.

If it’s a match, the rescue will then have access to their vet reference and personal references expediting the adoption process.

The dogs the potential adopter is shown would have to meet certain preferences for size, breed, and possibly ideal lifestyle (apartment, renting, or owning a home for example).

A percent match and a menu can be displayed showing which criteria the pet meets allowing for some forgiveness if the adopter is okay with that.

Adding video and text chat options would also allow for ease of communication and even an initial meet-and-greet with the pup and a rescue volunteer.

(Ideal for these pandemic times when most shelters have been closed to the public or available by appointment only.)

What is the adopter isn’t entirely sure what kind of dog they’re looking to adopt?

This is where a robust set of filters can come into play with an option for the adopter to broadcast their interest to rescues in the area.

Ideally, this can do one (or all) of three things:

  • Introduce the adopter to different types of dogs they may not have considered
  • Help the rescues find homes for hard to place dogs, especially if they think the adopter may have the experience in dealing with a special case.
  • Potentially end breed stigma if the adopter is introduced to a type of dog they may not have otherwise considered either due to stigma, or just the fact that not a lot of that breed end up in rescue.
Sketches of match and chat screens inspired by online dating apps.
Drawings of a Match screen and a chat conversation made by the author.

What considerations would we need to take into account if this app was to become a reality?

I think the biggest thing is making sure the rescues aren’t overrun by non-serious applications. That’s another place where the model of dating apps could come in handy.

What if adopters could pay a modest fee to set up their profile like they would on Match.com or eHarmony? That would show their intention, allow them to save time from filling out multiple applications, and hopefully get them their companion sooner?

What’s the biggest takeaway?

Rescuing a pet can be really rewarding and it’s a worthwhile endeavor, but I think the biggest turn-off for potential adopters is the unknowns that come with a dog.

Having a way that rescues can easily see if a pet is going to the right home and environment for them would go a long way to making sure that more pets get adopted.

After all, isn’t the end goal that every pet finds a good home with people who love them?

--

--

Lauren Busser, M.S.
Digital Detritus: An Open Sketchbook

TV. Books. Navigating burnout. Holds an M.S. from NYU in Integrated Digital Media.