Be more judicious about what you “cancel”

Ted Bauer
Digital Diplomacy
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2021

--

You’re likely familiar with the above video, that being “The Humpty Dance” by Digital Underground. This particular YouTube embed has 26 million views. That’s not a lot by the standards of kids unwrapping presents and reviewing toys these days, but for a specific 10–15 year generation of humanity, this song coming on in a bar means most people are dancing and most people know the words, especially “… once got busy in a Burger King bathroom.” (Sidebar: I actually know a woman who did that, and it was completely unlike her, and literally decades after it happened, her friends still bring it up.)

The Humpty Dance, which oddly makes me think of people long since gone from my existence, came on this morning in my car, and then again at a WeWork I go to, so I figured that was a cosmic sign that I had to write about it.

If you look up the lyrics to Humpty Dance, there are all sorts of questionable things in there by the modern Internet canon, including:

  • “My name is Humpty, pronounced with a Umpty
    Yo ladies, oh how I like to hump thee.”
  • “Hey yo fat girl, come here — are ya ticklish?
    Yeah, I called ya fat
    Look at me, I’m skinny
    It never stopped me from gettin’ busy.”
  • “They say I’m ugly…

--

--

Ted Bauer
Digital Diplomacy

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.