The World Needs Something New (Like NFTs)

Leap into the future, don’t dwell on the past.

Erik P.M. Vermeulen, PhD
Digital Diplomacy

--

Photo courtesy of author

A. Eddie Murphy

B. Meghan Markle

C. Van Neistat

D. Taco Bell

Who is the odd one out?

Eddie Murphy

March 4, 2021. Amazon Prime released “Coming 2 America,” the sequel to the hugely popular movie from the eighties. It looked like a clear attempt to recapture past glories for a star whose fortunes have faded recently.

I watched the movie a few days after its release. I had no expectations. Normally, I would read the reviews before watching, but I decided not to. It isn’t hard to imagine what they would say. Do we really need another comedy sequel?

The truth is I quite enjoyed it. The story beats echoed the original. It was light and uncomplicated. It created a positive moment in an overly negative world.

It wasn’t a surprise to me that the sequel made the list of the most-watched opening weekend Amazon “streaming movie” during the pandemic.

Meghan Markle

March 7, 2021. Meghan Markle and her husband Prince Harry sat down with Oprah Winfrey for an interview. The conversation attracted close to 50 million…

--

--