Overthinking verses productivity

Delia Carr
Digital Dorset
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2022

I like to write week notes that are informative to others, tell a story or promote the work I am doing so others can get involved. What I don’t like to do is give a running commentary into my week as I don’t think that’s an interesting read. I also like to keep my notes brief as we all have limited time. I really struggled this week to think of a topic, what has happened to my creative juices?

I started to overthink rather than just go with my gut. Should I ask Sam McLaren for an idea, write about our upcoming services week from 7–11 March (Dorset Council link) GDS Services week link, talk about the new hybrid coach app I am working on, talk about data in regards to power bi or even talk about the new features which Microsoft 365 have launched this week and how they could save our users time.

Overthinking has only recently really become a thing for me, I want to be the best I can be for myself and others. I have been reflecting lots about my past and looking at the future but it can all be so consuming. Perhaps it’s because I am at a crossroads. I have never liked having to make decisions because what if I make the wrong choice? work choices seem easier because I can use data to help.

Some could say that overthinking is good for you and even a benefit to us: Running through different scenarios in your head is a good way to make hard decisions, and visualizing your goals is essential to achieving them. But how long is too long? Is it affecting sleep? wellbeing? feelings of confusion. Talking to someone else does really help.

In writing this I looked for advice, I thought this article was really helpful and gave some great tips. How to stop overthinking: 8 top ways (tonyrobbins.com)
For me I need to let go of the past and live in the moment to work towards a new future at work and in my personal life.

The quote below resonated with me, sometimes we need to take risks to help move forwards. Avoiding taking actions and making decisions can be really unproductive.

Perhaps next week one of my ideas will come from my initial overthinking 😊
Do you overthink? or is it meaningful reflection?

--

--