Shanty-Notes & the #Weeknotechallenge

Sam McLaren
Digital Dorset
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2021

I have decided to challenge myself to doing a different form of weeknotes every week. Doing a Sea Shanty was suggested by Alex May as my next challenge and it is now #4 in my list. The other three are linked below:

‘Traditional’ Weeknotes

Gif-Notes

Sketch-Notes

If anyone has any suggestions for forms of weeknotes i would really appreciate it because i might start to run out soon. Whats interesting is that it may seem like i have lost my sanity but i have found that doing this ‘challenge’ has actually helped me to keep it! (or what little was there in the first place)

Enough blurb, here is what you came for… My Shanty Weeknotes:

So yeah… trying to harmonise with myself was a weird experience but i also learnt some new tricks for when i do the next Digital Dorset Podcast.

Bring on next week and my 5th weeknote of the #weeknotechallenge…

Movie Quotes!

For anyone interested here are the lyrics:

Chorus:

We work in the digital team.

User research looking at themes

Working hard to realise dreams.

And keep you in the know

Last week I was challenged by Alex May.

Turn your weeknotes into a Sea Shanty

I gave it a go so I hope its okay.

And here is what ill show

Monday came, its half term now.

Less people in but more work somehow

Lots to do, but will my Time allow.

Its looking like a no

Tuesday started, big team session.

How’s the future looking?, the main question

Learning from each other through expression.

As a team, we grow

Wednesdays here, were half way through.

Team colouring to push away the blue

Still have process mapping to do.

Swim lanes and the flow

Thursdays come it show and tell time.

Working in the open is sublime?

I’m startling to really struggle with rhymes.

And its , beginning to show

Finally Fridays come about

Time for everyone to scream and shout

Better put my bloody week notes out

So I can finally go

--

--

Sam McLaren
Digital Dorset

Working to promote Dorset as a place to live, work, and visit. DL100 member. Inspiringthefuture volunteer. TED Speaker #SamsBrightIdeas