Living with Parents as a Young Adult

The Financial Side of Things

Praise Adeola
Digital Finance Hub

--

Photo by Tierra Mallorca on Unsplash

I find myself in a situation that many young adults can relate to. I still live with my parents. While my peers are out exploring the world, I’m here learning how to navigate adulthood within the confines of my childhood home.

Ever since my college days, I’ve always wondered what it would be like to have my own place. I yearned for the freedom to live independently, to infuse my living space with a Boho vibe, to go shopping for household items, to host sleepovers with friends, and to enjoy solitude whenever I desired.

These are experiences that living with parents doesn’t afford. For me, transitioning into adulthood meant moving out from under my parent's roof and gaining a sense of independence—not entirely, but in ways that truly felt like spreading one’s wings and taking steps in the right direction. It doesn’t matter if the space is small; it’s mine to make into a home—a place where I can truly be myself.

When I was confronted with the societal reality of no stable income and economic uncertainty, my dream space had to make way for reality. After years of living alone in hostels and apartments, returning to my parent’s house after my youth service felt like a step backward, but it was a necessary move.

I was bombarded by a mix of emotions: nostalgia, relief, and an overwhelming sense of comfort. The advantage of getting back in touch with my family outweighed the difficulties of going from being an independent college student to an adult living at home.

Assessing My Financial Situation

One of the first things I did was have a conversation with myself about where I stood financially. I had big dreams, goals, and ambitions that couldn’t accommodate what I had coming into the bank. I needed to be realistic. Living at home presents an opportunity to save money, build my career, and, most importantly, gain clarity on my future.

Like many other young adults, money is a big issue. Graduating with a decent grade doesn’t mean much because there are so many young people looking for work and the job market is so competitive. Additionally, the few openings create arbitrary admission requirements.

This harsh reality solidified my decision to live with my parents. I had to start managing the income coming from consulting services and side gigs. I saved up money for rainy days and cut down on expenses like a responsible adult. Creating a budget was initially daunting, but it became my trusted companion on this journey.

Upturning my financial situation

I made the decision to live with my parents more than a year ago, and I don’t regret it. While living at home, I have channeled my surplus income into various investment opportunities, such as stocks, bonds, real estate, or retirement accounts.

It has also afforded me the flexibility to pursue career advancement opportunities, further education, and training programs without the added financial stress of high living expenses.

While living with my parents offers me the best financial benefits, as a godly, Yoruba, and responsible firstborn child, it became essential to consider the dynamics of contributing to my family’s finances.

This didn't put any pressure on me, but as a responsible adult living at home, I am expected to contribute to household expenses to ensure fairness and ease the financial burden on my parents. This contribution includes rent, groceries, or utilities.

I enjoy my financial contribution. It introduces dependency—a new type of independence that I was unaware existed. Having parents dependent on me for something (no matter how small) and being able to provide for them makes me feel proud.

My aims and dreams are still as strong as I stay home. I continue to plan, save, and establish specific objectives for myself. Although I may not be where I had hoped to be in this chapter, I am certain that it is an essential phase in my path forward.

Today, I write this article from the same room I’ve called mine for years, still under the same roof as my family. The lessons I’ve learned while adulting at home continue to shape my life, and I carry them with me as I embrace the opportunities and growth that each day brings.

I know a few adults make reference to the stigma that comes with living with their parents; I can’t relate to such a thing. And I honestly wouldn’t want anyone to keep feeling that way. Leaving home is a big decision that should be weighed carefully. The best decision you can make while adulting is to do what is best for you, and that includes defying certain norms.

If anyone fails to provide for his own, and especially for those of his own family, he has denied the faith [by disregarding its precepts] and is worse than an unbeliever [who fulfils his obligation in these matters].

1 Timothy 5:8 (AMP)

If you enjoyed reading this, please clap as many times as possible, as it makes the post more visible to those who may like it or learn from it. You can also be a member of our financially thriving community; we would love to have you.

Don’t forget to leave a good tip for this writer below.

--

--