Cat Foster Family — A Life Changing Story

Revolv
Digital GEMs
Published in
5 min readOct 11, 2023

This article is about me, cats, and humans. It is not only my story, but the story of thousands of people, and I hope it is going to be yours after this article.

a grey stray cat hiding in a hole in a wall in a village in corsica

Unveiling the Cat Abandonment Issue in France

Did you know that according to the French animal welfare organization 30 Millions d’Amis, an estimated 100,000 pets are abandoned in France every year? The summer season sees a notably elevated number, as this is when people embark on vacations and often tend to part ways with their pets. According to Statista, more than 11,000 cats and kittens were abandoned in France in the summer 2022. Those numbers raise concerns about the reasons behind abandoning a cat. People don’t realize the responsibilities of adopting a cat, however, fostering could be a solution to this statement.

4 grey stray cats eating chicken from a red bowl in the street.
Stray cats I fed this summer.

Cat Fostering Chronicles: From Student Life to Unexpected Kitten Rescues

As a student, I dream of living abroad, working for big international companies, or maybe having a gap year to travel from one remote area to another. I don’t have much money, I have a loan which I recently started repaying, and Parisian rents and lifestyle are terribly overpriced. Overall, I am as financially unstable as I can be at this point.

A few months ago, my close friend, an avid cat enthusiast, needed a two-week stay in Paris, and I offered her to stay with me. She shared her experience of fostering a cat the previous year, which sparked my interest. The idea of having a comforting presence after a tough day and helping a loving creature find a deserving home appealed to me. I felt that my home could be a shelter for a small vulnerable companion. She mentioned that fostering is temporary and that organizations often cover the costs of food and litter. Funny I thought at the time, let’s plan this for October. Here is the thing: fostering cats is also about planning, you should always organize your life before overseeing someone else’s.

Take a look at our interview with a cat fostering family !

Cat fostering: Amelie and Philippe share their experience.

Fast forward to October 3rd: I have made my decision. I contacted an NGO a colleague told me about, I filled and sent back a questionnaire, and on Thursday evening, 10 pm, I received THE call that changed everything:“This is an emergency. We need someone to foster 2 kittens. They are not ready to get adopted, they fear people and need love and care to grow and socialize with humans. Their current foster family is leaving on Saturday morning”. I felt the emergency of the situation and couldn’t afford to think long-term: they needed me now.

During the call, I thought “Maybe two kittens are like a big cat”. Well trust me, it is not. I was clearly not prepared for this. I agreed without thinking properly, even though I had three months before to make up my mind. It has been five days that I have two little monsters at home, Cookie and Pickle.

Two orange kittens hiding under a shelve staring at the camera and appear frightened
Cookie on the left and Pickle on the right.

Fostering cats sometimes doesn't go as planned, mixed emotions fill my head and heart. However, I know I made the right decision when I see those 4 eyes staring at me. This is an opportunity to save them, even though they are still afraid, I will do my best to help them adapt to the human presence because I am their last chance to get adopted and find a loving family.

My advice is simple: if you want to foster a cat, you need to understand the responsibility it involves. Then, once you are sure to have this in mind, don’t hesitate too much. Make sure to prepare to face what I am facing now. It may not be as easy as you think. But in the end, it is worth it.

In my situation, I am happy to count on the advice of dear friends who have more experience than me in fostering cats, and on the organization (Les Animaux de Mutti) . Especially the cat behaviorist who’s going to be of much help in the next weeks I believe.

1. Determine Your Needs and Lifestyle. 2. Check if your accommodation is ready to welcome a cat. 3. Choose the right pet association. 4. wait to get contacted by the pet fostering center. 5. Enjoy the time with your temporary cat.

Cat Companionship: A Prescription for a Happier, Healthier Life

Owning a cat can be incredibly beneficial for your overall well-being. These feline companions offer numerous advantages for your health, both physical and mental. Interacting with cats can reduce stress and anxiety, as their gentle purring and soothing presence have a calming effect. The presence of pets has been associated with the reduction of stress and blood pressure and therefore may reduce the risk of cardiovascular diseases. Caring for a cat encourages a routine, fostering a sense of responsibility and structure in one’s life. Furthermore, the bond between a cat and its owner can provide emotional support and alleviate feelings of loneliness but also depression. The playful antics of cats can bring joy and laughter into your life, boosting your mood and reducing feelings of depression. All in all, the loving companionship of a cat can contribute to a happier, healthier, and more fulfilling life.

Reduces anxiety Increases social engagement Helps adoption centers Rehabilitates former agressive cats Cats help a lot with anxiety. Studies have shown that cats form social bonds with conspecifics and humans, and they can feel our emotions. It also helps with loneliness. Some people foster cats to feel less lonely and have a presence at home. Finally, fostering cats takes a weight off the shoulder of adoption centers as they sometimes don’t have enough space to welcome every fostered stray

Be a foster hero!

Although fostering programs for dogs have been well-established in many areas, these programs are extremely rare for cats. A research published in 2022 on the NIH was conducted to empirically evaluate outcomes associated with placing shelter cats in a short-term foster environment, when compared with cats that remained in the shelter.

Results indicate that cats placed in foster care were not at a disadvantage. Foster cats did not display decreased social behavior, increased fear or aggression, or increased cortisol levels while in the foster home. Therefore, even short-term cat fostering does not appear to be more stressful for cats than staying in the shelter. This work provides empirical evidence that cats can be placed into foster homes, even for short periods of time, when shelter space is limited.

“Go for it!” said Philippe and Amélie, two cat’s foster parents that we interviewed.

Have you ever thought of fostering a pet before? Let us know in the comments below!

About this article

This article has been written by a group of students at the Grenoble Ecole de Management’s Advanced Masters in Digital Strategy Management. As part of a content creation assignment, students are given the task of writing articles based on their digital interests and disseminating the articles online. Articles are marked but we make minimal changes to the content. Thanks for reading! James Barisic, Programme Director, MS DSM.

--

--