4th of July Aftermath

Recently, I started to develop a routine for myself and walk around, not just my neighborhood complex.

Reuben Jeremy Cucio
Digital Global Traveler
3 min readJul 11, 2023

--

Image taken by the author

Those nearby sidewalks and other neighborhoods all lead to somewhere, yet this one happens to be on Eldorado Lane. A street name fitting enough for how much I have discovered not only about myself but the environment & amazing view that no one could ever comprehend. It was all just around the corner from where I have been living for so many years. There’s a small business with some construction machines and things to rent along with a big roundabout curb for cars to turn around because it’s a dead-end street. On the 4th of July, after a very long, slow day at work, I decided to walk around before the night ended. I noticed a group of people celebrating the 4th of July. As they should be, yet they were in that corner. I just happened to discover hours beforehand. The next day rolled by and living in Las Vegas, I have gotten used to the hot weather conditions. Started my daily walk around in the sun, contemplating what to do, and how to execute my plans before I get started. I ended up jogging onto Eldorado Lane towards my house, then discovered that my new landmark was visibly trashed. The road had tire marks, along with all the fireworks that were all used the night before. It was just straight garbage lying around with no one around to clean it up nor a care in the world.

After a few days passed by, I was busy with work. Yet, in the back of my mind, I would always bug myself on how difficult humans can be in terms of happiness, yet ignorant as to their actions and what they do to the environment. There was no one to hold accountable for this mess and I figured that if I ever had free time, I would clean it all up. My first day off rolled around and it was a scorching 105 degrees Fahrenheit (40 degrees Celsius) outside. The sun was just blazing away with no clouds in sight, yet I had an itch to scratch. Taking the time to prepare and get the necessary tools I would need to clean up this mess, made me realize just how organized and functional I operate as an individual. Not only was I able to clean it all up within an hour, I could carry it all back in my garbage disposal bin along with a box to carry the leftover fireworks boxes. Surely, I wanted to pat myself on the back, but I also got the opportunity to sit down on the small mountain of rocks on Eldorado Lane and watch the daily train pass by. It was close enough that, if I truly wanted to go on an adventure with no idea of how to get back, I could just hop on a train any day from now on.

Photo by author

Helping out where you can when no one asks nor cares, it still means it happened. I think my lesson to myself was to show care and kindness even when no one is watching. Opening my mind and eyes for the first time in years has allowed me to discover how heavy my heart of gold truly is. I don’t go looking for recognition, because I feel like being a kind human being is just better than showing it off. The landmark I had left was a tiny marker flag from years ago. Hopefully, I can bring others to enjoy my discovery.

Photo by author

--

--

Reuben Jeremy Cucio
Digital Global Traveler

My thoughts and experiences are my own and this is my way of sharing them with you. Profile picture taken by me (Reuben Cucio)