A Gay Guy’s Guide to Six Favorite Chicago Bars and Clubs

Here is a list of some of the places in Chicago that I really enjoyed

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Digital Global Traveler
5 min readJun 4, 2022

--

Photo by Amit Thakral: https://www.pexels.com/photo/photo-of-city-buildings-near-river-2535631/

Keep in mind, that I lived in Chicago last in June 2018 but I did frequent the bars and clubs often while I lived in the city. Some of the clubs I wanted to mention shut down one way or another since the pandemic started but I did still include ones that have remained open and one at the end that even though it closed still holds a special place in my heart and in the minds of the community.

Touché: 6412 N Clark Street

This gay bar is not in the traditional “Boystown” area of the city but is in fact in the Rogers Park neighborhood of Chicago near the intersection of Clark Street and Devon Avenue. This place is a leather bar and may not necessarily be for more of the glitzier, twinkier gays, but it’s definitely laid back and inclusive of all gays. So, if you want a place where you can just sit and drink a beer, play some pool, and watch some very gay-friendly programming, then this place is definitely for you. You may also want to check out the backroom for yourself. I won’t spoil anything for you but this was definitely my favorite area of the entire place.

The SoFo Tap: 4923 N Clark Street, 1st Floor

The SoFo Tap is also another bar that has a very relaxed, inclusive feel to it. This was also a regular hangout spot for me when I lived in the city. I was here more than all of the other bars and clubs listed here combined. I always felt welcome there and the drinks were relatively inexpensive compared to many other places I’d encountered in the city of Chicago. This is also in a neighborhood outside of Boystown. The neighborhood is called Andersonville. The bar itself is on the first floor of a multi-level building. It is downstairs from a gay adult shop called Banana Video. The bar has karaoke, which is always a bonus for me. It also hosts game nights and other fun events and the theme always changes from night to night. This is a must-see when you’re in the city.

Sidetrack: 3349 N Halsted Street

This is the first entry on my Chicago list that is actually contained within the neighborhood of North Halsted which is contained within Boystown, also known as Lakeview. Sidetrack is a massively sized bar and club with a seemingly diverse crowd. I’ve only been here a couple of times and one of those times was for a semifinal competition that was held to sing the National Anthem at Wrigley Field on Out At Wrigley. From my couple of encounters here, and for being a bar and club in Boystown, it seemed just fine. I would solidly recommend it to anyone who’s more into the club scene. I saw a dancefloor and the place is spacious. I’m almost certain that the place gets crowded on dancing nights.

Replay Lakeview: 3439 N Halsted Street

Replay is such a cool and funky concept for a bar. Along with many taps to choose from at the bar, they also have traditional arcade games. I remember spending hours at the NBA Jam arcade game. This bar is also in the Boystown neighborhood of Chicago and is definitely a delight for a diverse group of people. I remember I was there one night for a raffle for a tattoo. I wouldn’t have actually gotten it and would’ve given it to someone else who would’ve wanted it themselves but this place is so fascinating that it is worth at least one consideration while you’re in Boystown.

The North End: 3733 N Halsted Street

This Boystown bar on Halsted right before it meets with the split of Broadway. It is a gay sports bar and has been open since 1983. It had such a low-key feel to it. Obviously, this bar will mainly be oriented more toward sports fans but is laid back and welcomes all. I mean, I played some pool, drank some beers, and just watched a few games when I went in there the few times I did. I brought my partner with me this one time and he got propositioned by an older man but that’s a different story for a different day.

Bobby Love’s: 3729 N Halsted Street

Right next door to the North End is a karaoke bar called Bobby Love’s. I remember my first encounter with this bar. The karaoke DJ was in his underwear on St. Patrick’s Day on a solo trip into the city with my partner out of town. I could’ve gotten into a lot of trouble that night but I was good. I took the train there that day and even though the drink prices were a little high here, the sound system sounded great and was very good for karaoke. I’m a karaoke diva so this was very important to me. This place holds a dear place in my heart just for that fact alone. You should check this place out for yourself, especially if you’re a karaoke fiend like I am.

There was one more bar I was going to mention that used to be called Hunter’s. It was renamed Phoenix Bar & Grill and it was located at 1932 E Higgins Road in Elk Grove Village, IL, approximately a 30–45 minute drive from the heart of the city in the Northwest suburbs.

I just found out, though, that it was permanently closed and razed to the ground after 37 years in business in 2020 near the beginning of the COVID pandemic. This place is where I entered into a karaoke contest and went on a regular basis for the year or so that I lived in the suburbs before moving to the city. I know it won’t help anybody reading this list but it’s definitely one worth mentioning just based on its name recognition and long tenure in the community.

I hope anyone in the LGBTQI+ community or any allies found this information useful the next time you’re in Chicago. These are my favorite places to go and I hope that these can also become yours as well. Happy Pride Month, everyone, and stay safe.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Digital Global Traveler

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.